Can’t Shake It

our anxiety does not come from thinking about the future, but from wanting to control it - Kahlil Gibran

 

I’m sure I’ve talked about before, I get anxiety about things pretty easily. Things have happened in my life (that I won’t be talking about here) that may have triggered it, but it also could just be my personality. When I get caught up in things, I just can’t seem to shake them. People can tell me everything they think I want to hear, but I’ll come to my own conclusions  - most of the time for the worst – and just go with that. Well I’ve currently been experiencing more anxiety about things. It’s frustrating and annoying and I try and talk myself out of it but it’s just looming over me like a dark cloud. Exercise helps a lot. It helps clear my mind and nine times out of ten I will feel better after a good run. 

I think I really just need to learn to live in the now. I’ve never been good at it. I think about the future a lot and think about everything that I want to happen in the future and wanting to fast forward to that time. But I don’t enjoy the now. I occasionally mope about how I wish things were different or life would just skip a year. This year I’ve been trying to embrace the present, live in the now and just go with the flow. That’s not my personality but I think I’ve done a pretty decent job of it. I guess I’m just in a rut right now that I need to find my way out of. 

"Anxiety,worrying" William is constantly thinking to himself throughout the story. He does it so much that almost every conclusion he makes is negative. This causes him to become anxious and and worry.

So here’s to positive thoughts and trust that what’s meant to happen will happen in time.

Leave a Reply

