Pocket Full of Sunshine

Hellloooo readers! (The few of you that actually read this that is..)

I don’t know how the weather is where you are but it was AMAZING here this weekend. Friday night was a little rainy and overcast at night, but gorgeous during the day. Saturday and Sunday had highs in the 70s to 80 degrees! Ahhh I love it. So let’s jump in to my recap of the weekend.

Friday

After class I headed straight home to eat something and get ready for our lax games. That took up the rest of the night and I was in bed by 8:45. It wasn’t a pretty game; we played a very good team and it was pouring off and on throughout the varsity game. And I was a wreck, for other reasons. So I was more than happy to get home and pass out hard.

Saturday

Saturday started with a 7am wake up call. I ate what I plan to eat on race day, waited about 45 minutes to an hour, then took off on my last long run before the half-12 miles! I have never tapered before. I don’t know why, but whatever plans I followed the last two races I trained for didn’t call for a taper week. They also only called for 11 miles as the longest run. So I decided to give this a shot. I’m a little nervous just because it’s new to me but it seems to work for others so I figured it won’t hurt too much.

I ran my normal long route backwards which was I think a better decision – less up hill battles. I had my sports beans with me and ate one every 2 miles about which seems to work best. Miles 5-7 were run around a large park that has numerous soccer fields, baseball fields, etc. Luckily, they also have bathrooms and water fountains so I was ecstatic when I figured out I could jog past them and grab a quick drink. It was my first time running to the park and through it and it was beautiful. Of course, I failed to snap any pictures – blogging fail. Our head coach held a practice this morning so I kept an eye on the time during my run to see if I would be able to run by while they were all still there. At mile 10 I made it to my high school and stopped in to grab some water from the girls and stretch.

Displaying photo 1.JPG

They were amazed at my 10 miles and baffled that I still was going to run more. Things like that make me smile and make me amazed that I can push my body this hard. After about 5-10 minutes, I trekked home for the last 2 miles. It was overall a great run and I kept a steady pace throughout. Unfortunately, I forgot to pause my running app when I stopped so my mile 11 was at a 19 minute mile pace – fail again. So my overall pace was totally thrown off. But I was maintaining about a 10:20-10:30 the previous 10.

Displaying photo 2.JPG

The rest of the day was spent napping, relaxing, and recovering. Until after dinner when I headed out with classmates!

Two guys in my class decided to celebrate their birthdays together at a bar in DC. They got drink deals for us all when we mentioned their name at the door, pretty sweet deal! It turned out to be a great night; so much dancing and laughing and lots of drinking. At one point, one of the guy’s friends bought about 4 rounds of fireball shots for about 15 people and I ended up being one of those people – every.single.time. I’m not one to turn down a free shot, but that may not have been the best decision ever to take all of those, haha. I actually felt great Sunday morning considering how much I drank. I had such an awesome time though being with my classmates. It’s hard for me to make it out with them sometimes because of how far away I live but it never fails to be a great time.

Sunday

Once I made it back home, I knew I needed to be super productive. Finals are creeping up on me and I have a few assignments I need to finish before that. So this week I need to knock out a lot of that busy work and tighten up before sh*t hits the fan and I’m super stressed out with finals.

So I did laundry, cleaned my room and got started on some work! I didn’t get nearly as much done as I was hoping because I was so exhausted, but I at least started on some things. I went out to try and find a new pair of running shorts but failed. Since my first half, I always treat myself to a new pair of Nike tempo shorts before the race. I am on the hunt for a pair now but am cheap so I want to find them on sale. It’s proving difficult so I may just need to bite the bullet and get some full price! Check out these Nike tanks I spotted – I love these tanks with sayings on them!

Displaying photo 1.JPG                     Displaying photo 2.JPG

Sunday ended with dinner at my brother and his girlfriend’s new apartment! I got to sit at the kids table with this little man since there weren’t enough seats at the table. His older, too-cool-to-say-cheese brother was too busy on his iPad to smile for the camera.

Displaying photo 3.JPG

They invited us all over for fajitas and it was a great little get together. I ate way too many brownies for dessert while we played a few rounds of Scattegories. I had a very hilarious, very inappropriate response that I was pretty darn proud of – but none of my family was as amused as I was. Letter O – Thing you can do in less than 5 minutes. I’ll let you all fill in the blanks. Hahaha.

Overall it was a great weekend! A great mix of fun, relaxation, and working out. Have a happy Monday y’all!

One thought on “Pocket Full of Sunshine

  1. Chelsea Eats Treats says:

    Sounds like an awesome weekend!!! Great job on your run; you’re going to rock the half!! Sad I didn’t get to see you on Saturday but I’m glad you went out and had some fun to shake off the feelings from Friday ;)

Leave a Reply

