Run

Today my post is going to revolve around an article (blog post??) that my friend sent me the other day. You can find it below, but I will be commenting on it in this color. Here is where I got it from. Thought Catalog is an awesome site to waste time on. There are tons are great writers who post thoughts about life or anything that comes to mind and they are mostly great reads.
In lieu of recent events, I felt it was appropriate in the fact that it celebrates something that I, and millions of others, love (and hate); running.
17 Things Running Teaches You About Life
1. To be good at anything, you have to put in the time and effort no matter how talented you are. 
Practice makes perfect. Anyone can be a runner, but to be an adequate one, it definitely does not happen over night. This goes for anything. Take school for example: no matter how well I have done in the past, nothing matters except for how I do now, in these classes, for the next two years. I put in hours and hours of time studying and try my best, but none of my success so far has come without hard work.
2. Your abilities and someone else’s abilities are not the same. Do the best that YOU can do. 
I sometimes get caught up in the fact that I have been an athlete my entire life and believe I should be a great runner. Fact is: I am an awful runner I am slow, I look like a gazelle and I have awful technique; but running is my stress reliever. I don’t do it to be fast, I do it to relax my mind and body, to free my mind; (and obviously to stay in shape too.)
3. If winning is your objective, realize that you have to work 10 times harder than the next best person.
No body likes a loser. If you’re not first, you’re last. Sometimes I have to remind myself that in grad school it isn’t a competition anymore. I am competitive and always want to do well in school, but I have come to the conclusion that if I work my ass off and come out with a B+, I am okay with that. (B+’s get degrees, by the way.) I’m okay with not studying that one hour to get in some quality time with family or friends. Winning/succeeding is important to me, but my sanity is  pretty darn important too.
4. No matter how hard you work and how prepared you are, disappointments will happen.
It’s life, and you know what? It goes on. If I have a bad run one day when I know I am in shape, do I stop running? Hell no I don’t. I kick it out of my mind and think about my next run. If I don’t do as well on an exam than I was hoping, am I upset? Of course I am, because I have a desire to succeed, but I use that disappoint to push me harder. 
5. The most gratifying experiences usually come as a result of enduring the most painful trials.
My first half marathon was awful. I had a stomach bug the week before and ate minimal to no food the entire week but still decided to run. I did it. I hated every second of it. But I finished. And it felt so good to cross that finish line. It was the biggest accomplishment for me because I truly thought I couldn’t do it. Without pain and struggle, succeeding is easy; what fun is that?
6. To be great at anything, you have to risk failing terribly at it.
Never let the fear of failure keep you from your dreams. You will fail in life. It is inevitable. Use that failure to motivate you. Never doubt yourself simply because you are afraid to fail. Failure is how you learn to grow.
7. A lot of people endure the same pains that you do.
Believe it or not, most people that you encounter in life have been through, are going through, or will go through the same trials and tribulations you have endured. Always know that you are never alone in anything you do.
8. If you focus on putting one foot in front of the other, you will eventually reach the finish line.
Baby steps. This can apply to a lot in life. Just get started with your dream and eventually you ill accomplish it. If you keep moving forward, it will be there before you know it.
9. You cannot reach the finish line unless you start.
The hardest step for a runner is the first one out the door. Even if you are walking, you are still lapping everyone that refused to get up in the first place. 
10. The mind is a very powerful thing. If you can train your mind to keep going even when your body wants to quit, you can achieve some incredible things.
I never really understood what “the wall” was until I experience it. I always heard people say “Just get past the wall and you will feel great” (in regards to running). But seriously, when you feel like passing out or stopping, just keep going. 
11. Learning the difference between physically being unable to continue and giving up.
For me this is a tough one. As a PT student I know I shouldn’t push myself through pain, but I am stubborn and refuse to stop running because of a little shooting pain down my leg. I would consider that quitting. But I need to learn that if I want to continue running for years to come, I should probably listen to my body a little more and stop when I need to.
12. Accepting that every day is different — some days 5 miles is really easy, other days it feels like a cruel punishment.
Some days getting up at 5am is easy, other times it feels like cruel punishment. (Just kidding, it always feels like cruel punishment.) But for real, you live and you learn. Living in the DMV, I could be running daily in 60 degree weather, then summer decides to arrive in April and its 95 degrees outside. Better believe that 2 mile run is going to feel like torture.
13. Pace yourself.
Life is a marathon. You want to be here for the long haul so enjoy the little things, spend time with loved ones and realize that any part of your life could be gone at any moment. Enjoy the life that you live. 
14. You cannot give 100%, 100% of the time.
Sometimes taking it slow is the best option. In running if you are always pushing 100% effort, reality is you will probably get injured. In life, sometimes you just need to get away, have a beer, watch some FRIENDS and take a nap. 
15. Sometimes you need a day off, a day off from everything.
In grad school I get plenty of days off from working out. (Not by choice at all, I just literally have zero time to do anything but study.) But with school work, I need those days off. That is how I keep my sanity. Since I only see Tyler 1-2 days a week, I try not to do work on those days. I want to spend my time with him and not have to worry about school work.
16. The worst time, the slowest pace, the last person to finish the race is still better off than the person who refused to try.
Love this. Even if I can only manage to get out for a 2 mile run, I consider that a serious accomplishment because at least I got up and did something. I sit in a classroom for 8 hours some days, and other days I am sitting around studying for that amount of time. Any chance I get to be out and active is an accomplishment in my book.
17. Even if you fall, even if you cannot finish today, you can and should pick yourself up and try again tomorrow.
Never give up on a dream. If you fail, try again. If you succeed, move on to the next dream. Never stop improving yourself.

Time to go study. Anatomy practical Friday. Foundations practical/written exams next Thursday. Then preparation for finals.

COUNTDOWN TO THE END OF YEAR ONE: 24 DAYS
Leave a Reply

