Park Work Out

I don’t know how the weather is where you are, but here it is absolutely beautiful! A little on the humid side but I’m pretty used to that living on the east coast.

I got out of class early today and I wanted nothing more than to just be outside enjoying the weather. Since my body isn’t quite used to this whole working out 5+ days per week, I’ve been pretty sore lately on a consistent basis. On days where my muscles just need a break from lifting or running, I have been really enjoying long walks around the lake and to a local park. That sounded perfect to me so as soon as I got home I grabbed a little snack and bottle of water and hit the trails.

I think I definitely take advantage of the fact that I live about a mile away – walking trails, not driving – from a beautiful regional park and lake. Well I used to take it for granted, but I plan on utilizing the trails and park a lot this summer for working out and just relaxing since my schedule is pretty open as of now.

This park definitely brings back memories. This place growing up was a hot spot for Girl Scouts gatherings, birthday parties, as well as school field trips. In second grade, I remember coming to the visitor center and learning about butterflies before being let loose in the gardens with nets to try and catch some! Oh to be young again.
I definitely couldn’t come here without hitting the playground. I discovered a newer one back in the woods on my exploration of the trails around the park. I spent five or ten minutes being a kid again and playing on the jungle gym before deciding to do some push-ups, pull-ups, lunges, and squats around the playground. 

This contraption you see here I have decided to nickname “The Death Trap.” I seriously don’t know how kids can play and climb on this thing. Its pretty scary because those circle things move and the middle one is fairly high off the ground. Maybe I was just a chicken, but I jumped down barely half way through because I thought I was going to eat it. 
I did my squats on top of this thing.
After exploring the park a little more, I headed back towards home but walked around the lake to extend my walk longer. According to my FitBit, I walked somewhere between 9,000-10,000 steps. I’m not sure where I was at before I started my walk because I forgot to check. It was a pretty great workout and took a little over an hour and a half total. 

I meant to take a picture of my lunch, but my stomach was grumbling and it just looked entirely too good to not just chow down. I have been loving the combo of eggs and avocado lately, so my lunch was exactly that. It hit the spot and has kept me full all afternoon.

Unfortunately, when I laid in the grass to so some abs I must have been on some kind of grass that reacts with my skin. My whole back and arms are broken out in itchy, red spots – almost like hives. I popped some Benadryl and without thinking, I took two. I forgot how easily Benadryl affects me so my eyes are feeling heavy already. A nap is in my very near future.

Tonight I’m going to see the new Star Trek with T. So excited!
One thought on “Park Work Out

Leave a Reply

