‘Merica

Hello! Let’s just go ahead and jump right in to my weekend – which was so much fun!


After planning this so long ago, the time was finally here to go to the USA v Germany Men’s Soccer friendly in DC. I was up at 7AM unable to go back to sleep because of how excited I was.

After chowing down some breakfast, getting ready and making a quick stop at the grocery store for beer, I headed to Tyler’s to get ready to go! Soon enough the crew all arrived and we hit the road. We wanted to leave around 9:30 and we stuck to the plan pretty well. Only 5 of us drove together from home, the rest of the group took the Metro or drove form other areas to meet up in the parking lot. By the time we reached the parking lot, we were ready to start the tailgating! The game didn’t start until 2:30 so we had plenty of time to hang out before heading in to the stadium. Our friends slowly started to trickle in to the parking lot over the next hour or so and soon enough we were having a great time with a group of about 30 of us.


One of my best friends from undergrad came with her boyfriend and her good friend from home who I have met and hung out with several times. It actually turned out that we were close to a group of girls that me and my friend played soccer with in college; then some of the boys soccer players showed up in the parking spots across from us. It was the perfect little reunion.

Soccer alumni + T 

The tailgating was so fun. We had plenty of beer, food and friends, along with a few corn hole sets to play on. I am so happy with how it all came together and panned out. T did a great job of getting people to commit early and while there were a few people who had to bow out last minute, overall it was a huge success.

L, S & Me; my sunglasses broke, twice.

T with Dempsey’s face
Me & T

Moment of silence for Oklahoma Tornado Victims

Our seats were great. While the rain held off during the entirety of the game, we would have been good to go because we were under cover. We ended up winning the game 4-3. It was a great confidence booster for the US team heading in to these next three World Cup Qualifying matches coming up in the next few weeks. 


After the game we chose to hang out a bit in the parking lot, eat some food and drink some water and wait for the traffic to dissipate. When we finally left we got out of the parking lot in no time. Unfortunately there were some pretty bad storms in the area so we sat in some traffic on the way home but we were in no rush. It was a perfect day and nothing could ruin that…

Unless you watch Game of Thrones and decided to watch that last night. Holy. Cow. I didn’t know what to do with myself. I just kept gasping and sat there with my jaw dropped for a good 10 minutes. Even this morning when we woke up, the first thing out of our mouths were “Did that really just happen last night on GoT??” If you watch the show, you know what I am talking about. If not, find someone with HBO GO and start from Season 1 Episode 1. Go ahead. Do it. You won’t be disappointed. If you read the books prior to this, you know everything that happens and I want to read them for the sole purpose of not having to wait around for season 4. But I tried and couldn’t get in to it. Maybe since I have a background of everything it will be easier to read.

I guess I should crack open my book bag and read through some notes that I have a test on on Wednesday. As you can tell, I am really stressing about this summer class….
2 thoughts on “‘Merica

Leave a Reply

