Never Forget

Today makes me forget about all of my stress, all of my worries, and every little thing that I’ve been complaining about recently. In the scheme of things, my stresses and worries are nothing compared to the sacrifices that some people have given for me to even be here today.

 
 
Today makes me thankful to live in a country where tragedy brings us together, not apart. We stand united, as one, in the face of adversity. We do not succumb to evil, we take it head on and show that we will not be defeated. 
 
 
It’s amazing to think that it has been 12 years since that tragic September day, yet it remains in our minds and in our hearts so vividly. I was in 7th grade. English class. I think it actually happened during second period Social Studies, but because of how close I live to DC, the faculty waited to tell us. We weren’t allowed to turn on the TVs, unlike my brother who was in high school and watched it all unfold live. Honestly, I didn’t understand what was going on. I was naive. I was excited at the fact that we were being let out of school early. Little did I know that that day will forever be ingrained in the minds of Americans.
 
 
I love this country. I am blessed. And I am eternally grateful to those who continue to protect and serve this beautiful land of ours. Thank you to those families who have sacrificed for this country. 
 
God Bless the USA.
Leave a Reply

