October Already?

I love October. The leaves are changing, the weather is cooler, I can rock some running shorts and a sweatshirt on the reg, and it just means it’s closer to Thanksgiving, Christmas and all those fun holidays. It also means all-pumpkin-everything, crock pot meals are planned at least once a week, and the best of all – it’s cuddle season. 🙂

So things have been pretty hectic around these parts. I got a solid 12 hours in on campus today so I think I could use the brain break and catch y’all up on what’s been happening in my life… Nothing exciting which is why I haven’t been posting haha – and I haven’t had the time.

We are in the sixth week of school already (or is it five.. I don’t even know), and midterms are upon us. Every week has been basically the same exact schedule for the past few weeks:

School – work out (+ or – ) – study – eat – sleep – repeat. Weekends have consisted of Friday night football games watching T coach, Saturdays of relaxing, catching up on sleep and doing work, and Sunday full of what else – football! I try and spend as much time over the weekend with T but it’s really hard because he has practices and meetings on the weekend and it is my only free time. This time of year is always the worst; it’s hard on me because I like to use my time with him as my break from school, but sometimes it just doesn’t work out. I get really frustrated and it makes me want to push fast forward to when we have incomes and can live together and not have to worry about this struggle – because it really just plain sucks sometimes. 

But that could take up this whole post, so I’ll save that topic for another day another time.

So midterms! Next week we have our Ortho peripheral and spinal midterms. I’ve put in two solid days of studying and practice this week and am feeling pretty good so far. Spinal isn’t until Thursday so I have a little time to go over that stuff after the first set of tests. I’m actually not as stressed (yet) as I feel like I should be, but I’m taking that as a good sign that I am well prepared and know the content well. We will see how it goes.

In this semester we have an integrated clinical experience that goes along with our Orthopedics class. We have been twice so far and I am really enjoying my learning experience so far. This clinic I am at is much different than others that I have previously worked/interned/shadowed at so I am able to appreciate multiple different managing tactics of the field. My clinic instructor keeps me involved with his treatments and assessments and keeps me on my toes, asking me relevant questions that apply to the patient he is working with. I’m excited to see how things progress over the next 6 weeks with my clinic experience – I already feel like I have learned a ton. It also doesn’t hurt that he compliments my knowledge on Anatomy every time I come in; it really makes me feel like I’m in the right place when I receive compliments like that. 

Oh yeah, another wonderful thing about October (and/or end of September): the return of all the Fall shows! Chicago fire started last week and it is just so good! I’m obsessed, probably one of the best shows on TV right now – never a dull moment.

Alright time to go jam to Justin Timberlake’s new album (AMAZING if you haven’t already bought it.. seriously go do it.. right now.. I promise you won’t regret it) and read over some notes before hitting the pillow early.

Leave a Reply

