Thankful.

Thankful

Happy Thanksgiving everyone! Since today is about giving thanks, I though I would just run through some things that I am truly thankful for in my life. I hope everyone has a great holiday with family and friends and eats loads of turkey and stuffing!

Family. Mine is no where near perfect. They drive me crazy, they stress me out and sometimes I just can’t handle them. But I am so grateful for my family’s health and that we all have roofs over our head and shoes on our feet. We make it work with what we have and I am grateful that we have all that we do. I am thankful that my parents allow me to live in their house while I work on completing grad school, feeding me and letting me stay rent-free. I am thankful for my sister and her husband, that I get to see my nephews as much as I do since they moved back to Maryland. I love seeing those two boys grow up and I am grateful for the opportunity to be an aunt to them. I am thankful for my brother, even if he can drive me up a wall, I know he will always have my back should I ever need anything.

Friends. While at this age they are fewer, that just means they are better. Everyone says this, but as we grow up we realize that its less important to have more friends and more important to have real ones. I am blessed to still have three close girl friends from high school who I still keep in touch with and get together with on a regular basis. I am eternally grateful for my best friend Casey, who I literally do not know where I would be today without her by my side; even when we don’t talk for a month because our busy schedules get the best of us, I know I could call her up day or night and it would be like we never lost touch. She is my rock, she tells me what I need to hear – not what I want to hear, and she will always listen to me complain about the same thing a million times and never tell me to shut up. I am thankful for my Salisbury girls, who I wouldn’t have made it through college without. I wish we all lived closer together but when we get together it just like we are back in 1402-208. I am thankful for my PT classmates, who I struggle with and succeed with on a daily basis. I couldn’t have asked for a better group of people to go through this experience with.

Tyler. I know, cheesy, I am thankful for my boyfriend. We don’t have a perfect relationship, but who does. He has never given up on me, just like I will never give up on him. He puts up with my bullshit when school is stressing me out and I pick random fights for no reason. He keeps me laughing and knows just what to say to put a smile on my face. He has a heart that is so full of passion, even if its directed towards football 99% of the time. I don’t know what I would do without this guy in my life. I am grateful for the time that we have had together (three and a half years, yesterday, to be exact), and I am looking forward to whatever the future brings for us.

My health. I am thankful for waking up every day to see a new sunrise. I am thankful that I still have the ability to be as active as I always have been. I am thankful that I have the insurance (mostly) to cover my butt when I do get sick or dislocate a shoulder for the third time. My body hasn’t given up on me yet with all of the stress I put it through and that’s all I can ask for from it. I am grateful that I get to live and see a new day every time I open my eyes.

Roof, clothes, food. Little things that people take for granted. I’m warm, I’m fed, and I’m dry from the rain; that’s all I can ask. 

My opportunities. Thousands of applicants, 200+ interviewed, 38 accepted. And I was one of 38. I am so blessed and grateful to be where I am today in this PT program. Thinking about it by the numbers is really incredible. I was unsure if I really wanted to go to this school because of how expensive it is, but I am so, so, happy with my decision. It’s an amazing program and I am going through it with the best class I could ask for. I may complain and be stressed 24/7 but I know that it will all be worth in it in the end, I’m grateful that I was given this opportunity to achieve one of my life goals. I am also thankful for all the opportunities I have been given in the past and throughout my life.

These are just a few out of so many things that I could list for you that I am grateful for. I am so blessed and sometimes I forget just how lucky I am to be where I am today, alive and well. Spend a little time today thinking about what you are thankful for and really appreciate it. Happy people aren’t thankful, thankful people are happy. 

 

Leave a Reply

