Thanksgiving Break

I hope everyone had a wonderful Thanksgiving break with friends and family and lots of food! I’ll just give a quick recap of my week off. 

Last Monday the Redskins played lost again. But one of my friends was home for the week so we all went out to a bar walking distance from our other friend’s place to watch the game and catch up. These girls are the only people I really keep in touch with from high school so it’s always great when we can all four get together.

Hana, Bianca, Me and Chelsea

I ended up leaving around halftime because I was coming down with a cold and really needed to catch up on some sleep so that I can buckle down for these two weeks I have of exams. It was a lot of fun though and I saw them again on Wednesday! Tuesday and Wednesday during the day consisted of sleeping and studying.

Then Wednesday night we hit up some local bars in our hometown for the typical Thanksgiving Eve awkward reunion. It wasn’t as bad as I was anticipating since a lot of friends that we actually hung out with in high school were there. It was so great to see most of the people and ended up being a fun night!

Thanksgiving was actually pretty quiet this year. Nothing special and not my favorite Thanksgiving ever but I ate turkey and stuffing and drank beer. There’s that.

My sister and mom headed out Thursday night for Black Friday (Thursday?) shopping. I was going to go, but once I got dressed to head out the door, my bed sounded like a much better choice. I was more than happy with this decision when I found out they didn’t get home until 1:30 AM! I would not have been a happy camper – basically I would have been miserable. Friday morning I was ready to go out but my mom and sister were moving slow. I got annoyed with their lack of decision making so I left them and went to the library for a few hours. I was pretty productive and they even came back with a bag full of stuff for me! Later in the day we trekked out to the mall – bad idea. It was so packed. We ended up finding a spot fairly quickly and got some pretty good deals out of the trip. Overall successful black Friday.

The rest of the weekend was spent at the library or at my desk or on my couch covered in notes. Yep. It’s that time of year again. The dreaded two weeks after Thanksgiving break where I have no life and have to study, study, study all the time. I seriously need to kick my butt in to gear and finish this semester strong. I’ve finished my research proposal (huge weight off my shoulders), and now I just need to focus on Ortho. Two exams this week. One comprehensive exam Monday. Two practicals Monday and Wednesday. Presentation for one class. And research written exam Thursday. Phew.

Then it’s sweet, sweet, one month long winter break. Much. Needed.

I may not be back until the 12th – so until then, Happy December! 

One thought on “Thanksgiving Break

Leave a Reply

