Southwest Spaghetti Squash

So. Not much has been going on around these parts. Lots of sleeping, and watching trash TV, and attempting to read books for fun, and Christmas shopping and wrapping. The usual around here on break. But let me tell you. I made this recipe last night and I am hooked. 

I always complain about living at home and not eating as healthy as I want. I depend on my parents to supply me with food because A) I just don’t have time to cook and B) I don’t have money/time to go buy food for myself. While my Mom keeps things balanced for the most part, I still feel like I would be eating healthier if I was making my own dinners. So while on break, I decided I would start making dinner a few times a night. To not only take that duty off my parents even for just a few short weeks, but also as a thank you to my parents for not letting me starve while in grad school (haha). 

Enter Pinterest. As anyone with a Pinterest, I have a board on FOOD. So many delicious recipes that I hope to one day try. After eating spaghetti squash recently, I wanted to look up different ways we could eat it since there is always so much left over. 

 

Displaying photo 3.JPG

Enter Southwest Spaghetti Squash. I used this recipe from The Comfort of Cooking. I followed it almost to a tee. Made a few alterations and added a few extra ingredients and submitted a few. It turned out SO GOOD. 

Displaying photo 1.JPG

First things first: cook the squash. We usually just throw it in the microwave because it’s just as cooked but faster. But this time we put it in the oven and let it bake for about 50 minutes. We weren’t very efficient with our time because we had other things we were doing so the steps were all over the place and not done in a good order but it got the job done!

In a pan, heat up some olive oil and saute the onions and red bell peppers. (We omitted the jalapeno peppers and added tomato and some other peppers). Add in the spices – chili powder, cumin, oregano, salt and pepper. Add in a can of black beans, rinsed. Add in a cup of corn; ours was canned but the recipe calls for frozen, it worked just fine. Add in cilantro – you can never have too much, I swear cilantro makes this meal – I love the stuff! Once that is cooking up and smelling delicious, add your cooked spaghetti squash to the mix. We had some ground beef that needed to be cooked so we added a few scoops of that to the mixture for a little more heartiness. Some more spices were added to make sure it was perfect. 

Last, throw the mixture back in to the squash shells and broil in the oven for a few minutes just get the flavors all blended and yummy. The recipe calls for cheese at this point to be put over the mixture – but me being lactose intolerant, we obviously skipped that part. It was then time to enjoy the food! It did not disappoint and I was so happy with the outcome. This will be a recipe that I will definitely be using again… and again and again and again.

Displaying photo 4.JPG

I topped mine with some fresh avocado, while my parents added cheese and avocado to theirs. It was a big hit in our house – with the exception of my brother who refuses to eat anything involving spaghetti squash. (More for me!) There ya have it, my first recipe from Pinterest that I followed and turned out amazing!

I think I’ve finally finished my Christmas shopping. Maybe just a few more little things but for the most part, I am done! So other than lazing around the house, the snow has been plentiful in these parts so I’ve had the chance to get out and play in it with the nephews! While I hate the winter (with the exception of Christmas and my birthday), I do love some snow. If it’s going to be this cold out, you might as well give me snow or else I will complain about the bitter cold everyday.

Displaying photo 5.JPG

S did not want to go out in the snow but once we put him on the sled we couldn’t get him off! He loved it.

Displaying image.jpeg

C wanted to help me make a snow man, but he didn’t want to take a picture with me. So here I am awkwardly with my snowman.

Displaying photo 2.JPG

I think I’ve told you all, but I was peer pressured to sign up for another Half marathon- okay it didn’t take a lot of pressure, I do enjoy it and it makes me feel better about myself, but the training is time consuming while I’m in school. My official training won’t start until February but I definitely need to pre-train my training. School got crazy the last month or so and my working out was limited to 1-2 a week. So my goal this break is get back to my baseline of being able to run 2-4 miles at least 4-5 days a week. I’ll be there in no time but getting started is tough when there is snow on the ground and temperatures aren’t getting higher than the 30s. Looks like a gym membership is in my near future again to train when its too cold outside. 

Alright, that’s all I have for y’all. Time to go wrap some presents!

One thought on “Southwest Spaghetti Squash

Leave a Reply

