A New Year Indeed

I can’t believe this year is ready to come to an end. I must say I’ve learned a lot more than I’ve bargained for this year and I am really looking forward to what 2014 will bring me.

School has been great. I struggled through a tough clinical placement this past semester but it taught me to appreciate what I did learn and grow from the experience. I did well on all exams and really got a new understanding for orthopedic physical therapy. I know this semester will be a tough one – focusing on acute care (hospitals) – but I know with no doubt that I will get through it.

The past week or so has been rough around these parts. Without going in to too many details, a lot of things in my life are changing – mainly one huge thing – and I don’t quite know how to wrap my head around it yet. I know one thing; I am so, so, so incredibly thankful for the friends that I have, near and far, that have been here to support me. I am blessed to have the amount of support and love around me in my time of need. I know I will come out of this stronger and more confident. The cards are never off the table in this situation and I really don’t know what is going to happen. If things are meant to work out, I truly believe that they will. But I also know that I cannot hold on to hope when something may never happen. 

So this year, I plan on learning more about myself. About what is important to me and what I need to do in my life to grow as an individual. With the help of friends and family, I know I will be okay no matter what happens in the long run.

Some things in 2014 that I am looking forward to:

1. Turning 25 – a quarter of a century! Thankful to have made it this far and to be so blessed with where I am today and who surrounds me everyday.

2. Completing my third half marathon in April. (Hopefully.. if I don’t die… which I know I won’t… but I might…gah!)

3. Completing my first full time clinical (12 weeks 40 hours/week) over the summer. It will be an amazing learning experience and I hope I get placed in a great clinic. I should find out pretty early where I will be placed.

4. Potential family vacation to the beach with my Colorado family who we rarely get to see.

5. Growing as an individual and learning more about myself than I had anticipated.

I hope everyone has an amazing and safe New Year’s Eve. Me? I think NYE is possibly the most overrated holiday on the calendar. Everyone always has big expectations and things just never turn out to be great. The past two years were spent quietly with the only one I would have wanted to be with. Tonight I’ll be spending time with my nephews and family, and possibly stopping by a friends house to hang out with her family. Nothing crazy, no spending crazy amounts of money and no need to get fancy and dressed out. Perfection.

One thought on “A New Year Indeed

Leave a Reply

