Books Lately

Over break I had the luxury of being able to read books for fun. When I have any spare time, I tend to attack the library and come out with arm-fulls of random books. So I thought I would just share with you all some of the books that I enjoyed and some others that I couldn’t even finish.

First up: Blackberry Winter by Sarah Jio. I had previously read The Last Camellia which was great and had hear from numerous other bloggers that I had to get my hands on this one. When I spotted it at the library I immediately grabbed it. It did not disappoint and was just the type of mystery, page turner that I was looking for. Highly recommended.

Anonymous Sources by Mary Louise Kelly. This was one book that I just kind of picked up, read the front sleeve and decided to go for it. Another murder mystery type book with some twists and turns I was not expecting. Page turner for sure and anyone in the looks for a mystery type novel – go for it!

Allegiant by Veronica Roth. I know I’ve talked about Divergent and Insurgent before and this was the third book in the series. I thought it did a great job of creating a solid ending to the story. Probably one of my favorite series that I’ve read – other than HP, come on people let’s be real.

The Cuckoo’s Calling by (J.K. Rowling). So this book is by Rowling but under a psuedo-name. The wait list at the library was forever so when I was walking through the aisles and saw this guy poking its spine at me I immediately snatched it up – knowing full well it should not have been on the shelf. Oh well – you snooze you lose! Well then. Unfortunately, I couldn’t even make it through this book. Maybe it was my situation and maybe I just couldn’t concentrate on it, but after 200 pages it just as not captivating me. And I got to the point where I just did not want to drag on for another 200 pages. So I gave up. Maybe I’ll try again one day…

Well I thought I had more, but apparently not. I know I read a few more books but I can’t think of the names/authors. I literally tend to just stroll down the new book aisle and just grab one that seems to be interesting. Most the time I can read anything. Lately though I haven’t been able to finish a book if it isn’t grabbing my attention. 

I’m a nerd. I like books, a lot. 

3 thoughts on “Books Lately

  1. i am definitly looking into sarah jio per your recommendation, and how sad about j.k. rowling, it’s such a let down when you get so pumped about a book and then it just shits the bed.

Leave a Reply

