Brave

Let’s just start out with this. Cause I can’t stop watching this video or listening to this song.

The video makes me happy. And the song just ups my mood a little bit. “Show me, how big your brave is.”

Let’s chat about acute care. Whew. This semester is going to test me, I can already tell and it’s only been two days. I don’t do well with hospitals. I don’t know what it is. But being in one gives me the most extreme anxiety ever. Sweaty palms, heart palpitations, light headedness, nausea, the works. I’ve never had a traumatic experience in a hospital, I don’t really have a reasoning for my anxiety. Maybe the smells, or the germs, or the infectious people, or I don’t know. Whatever it is, it breaks me down. But I will rise above it. I will get through the days I have to spend in the hospital because I know it will make me a better PT. Hell, I might even end up working in acute care because it is such a great learning experience. You never know. But I just need to get through this semester.

challenges - I always keep this in mind.. if everything was easy it wouldn't have the same effect

So far our lectures have been covering the basics. What all the tubes and catheters and ports and things are called, their purposes, etc. Maybe that’s another anxiety creator: there are so many ways that I could potential seriously injure and or kill someone if I don’t know what is what. More reason to be the best that I can be and make this semester my bitch. My other class seems like it will be interesting. We are reading “How Doctor’s Think” By Jerome Groopman; and will be discussing it throughout the semester as to how it applies to our career. My other class is all about modalities – ultrasound, electrical stimulation, etc. I don’t have it until tomorrow so I guess we will see how that goes.

My schedule this semester isn’t too bad. I don’t have any late labs with the exception of Tuesdays – I don’t get out until 4:20. But I will take that over 6pm any day. I also have a solid 2.5 hour break between classes on Monday and Tuesday so I’ll be using that time to work out. Speaking of working out. I’m in the process of creating my half marathon plan. I know I want to keep strength training at least 2 times a week if not more so I’m going to kind of create my own plan. Having people to work out with will definitely keep me motivated and moving. So keep your eyes open for that!

So, how am I doing? I guess everyday is different. And I’ve been told that it may be like that for awhile. I may have one or two good days, followed by a not so good day. And that’s okay. I know I will get there eventually. One way or another I know things will work out. Don’t know when. Don’t know what will happen. But I will be okay. And I will find what I know I deserve. Patience is key. Because anything worth having is worth waiting for.

See y’all.

Leave a Reply

