Quarter of a Century

Growing Older Is A Privilege

So this is what it feels like to be 25, huh? It feels the same as 24. Twenty four was good to me, but I have a feeling that twenty five is going to be better. I know this year is going to bring a lot of revelations, a lot of learning about myself, a lot of growing as an individual, and a lot of great memories. 

Wednesday night I did a little celebrating with some classmates as well as some of my best friends from home. It was nothing crazy, just a few pitchers of beer, good conversation and good laughs; just what I needed. My old college roommate lives across the street from where we were and I was so excited that she was able to pop in for a few minutes to chat. Then to my surprise two of my best friends Chelsea and Bianca showed up! I knew I was planning on meeting up with them but I was so, so happy to see them walk in :). After the place we were at closed (it’s literally like a sandwich place that just happens to serve beer..), we headed over to World of Beer just a block down the street. My friends had never been there and it’s a great place with so many delicious beers, so it was a great time. I was so happy that these two were able to come out for a bit to help me celebrate my birthday. I am so blessed to have them in my life. (I wish Hana could have been there too!)

The night ended at a classmates place that I ended up crashing at. I am blessed to have such an awesome class with some great friends. 

Yesterday, my birthday, started out a bit hungover. So I definitely hit up Starbucks and got my free birthday drink! Grande soy caramel machiatto please! The rest of the morning was spent in my bed catching up on four hours of shows that I missed throughout the week. Then a visit to the doctors (I know, on my birthday, ugh). I’ve had about three or four sinus infections every year for a long time so I finally went to talk to my doctor about the possibility of seeing an ENT to get my deviated septum fixed. I’m not sure if that would help anything but I guess I will find out when I get in to see him. 

The rest of the day was spent cleaning up the house and just helping my mom prepare dinner. My sister, brother in law and nephews came over for a big lasagna feast and of course, cookie cake! My brother and his girlfriend also joined in the party. It was a great time with family even if I wasn’t feeling 100% healthy. I got some antibiotics that should hopefully kick in within the next few days. 

This is from Christmas… oops. The sibs

Thursday is our “off day” in our schedule this semester so I didn’t have any classes yesterday. We only go in to clinic four days on Thursdays. It was kind of a tease because I just wanted to stay in bed this morning when my alarm went off. But it’s a shorter day, so I’ll be home before 3. I’m opting to rest today and tomorrow instead of forcing myself to work out so all this congestion can get cleared up ASAP. I’m still working on my half marathon training plan. I’ll keep y’all posted :).

This weekend I have a few fun plans that I’m looking forward to. Depending on how I’m feeling tomorrow, our family friend is having a Gatsby/1920s themed Martini party that I will be attending. I have a few outfits planned out so I’ll let you know how that goes. Sunday I’m going to an all you can eat, all you can drink brunch in DC with some classmates that we got on a Groupon. 

Have a great weekend! 

What are your plans this weekend?

Do you have any fun traditions with family or friends for birthday celebrations? Mine is usually more laid back, which I don’t mind at all!

3 thoughts on “Quarter of a Century

Leave a Reply

