Thinking Out Loud #1

I don’t have much going on; school, work out, eat, sleep, repeat. So I thought I would join in on the thinking out loud fun that a few bloggers I follow participate in. Now that I’ve been making my blog more public, I figure why not? So hello to any new readers and welcome. Here are my thinking out loud thoughts for today. Have a great Thursday! 

 

1. I have to start out this post with a HUGE birthday shout out to one of my best friends in the world, Bianca. She’s been there since 1st grade and we are still going strong. From girl scouts, to piggy points, to our awkward middle school years, to getting wrecked, the fun never stops. Love you B and I hope you have an amazing day!

2. It seems that for every 1-2 good days I have, along comes 2-3 not so good days. I know it’s probably going to be like that for awhile, but I wish it would stop. I feel as if I’m in a constant battle with myself as to how I should be feeling, how I want to be feeling, or how I want things to turn out. It’s like a roller coaster ride that won’t stop. As an avid planner and semi-OCD schedule/list maker, it’s driving me crazy that I don’t know what the future holds. But I know this is where I learn to grow and this is where I become a stronger individual.

Let it go...

3. Yesterday was a not so good day, so I hit the gym to attack the dreadmill. (Not sure how the polar vortex is where you are, but I am sick of this single degree weather! It’s killing my workout vibe.) Any who, I came out of that gym feeling ten times better. I get bored on treadmills pretty easily, so I usually do intervals that I make up as I go along. Yesterday I got up to 11 MPH for about 20 seconds, slowly working my there increasing by .5 MPH each sprint. It felt so good. The main thing I was excited about was my time.. I finished 3.17 miles (basically a 5K), in just under 27 minutes! I’m a slow runner, so that was incredible to me and made me feel awesome.

4. Speaking of work outs, I changed my half marathon training plan up a little bit. I wanted to add in a day of swimming for more cross training and one less run day to prevent injuries. I’m excited for that since I can use the pool at my school for free, but I have two issues. 1) I need a one piece bathing suit and don’t want to spend a lot on it (TJ Maxx, Marshalls), but it’s almost February and I can’t find any. 2) My shoulder. I don’t want to swim if my shoulder isn’t 100%. Which leads me to….

5. I finally set up a doctor’s appointment so that I can go get an MRI on my shoulder. It’s gotten to the point where it’s affecting my future career. With transferring patients out of bed and stuff, I’ve found that my shoulder hurts 80% of the time. Also, my hand has been getting neuro-type issues that are concerning to me. So. To the orthopedic doc I go, then to PT I go. Oh the irony. 

6. Next week I go to my first clinic day at the hospital. And I am freaking the #&*@ out. To help ease my anxiety, I have been weening myself off of caffeine. (Enter migraines. But caffeine only increases anxiety) I have been drinking a ton of water. I have been psyching myself up every day. And I just keep reminding myself that this is part of my career and I need to get the eff over it. I’ll keep y’all posted as to how that goes. My goal for the day: don’t pass out.

7. I have tests coming up that I haven’t started studying for. Everyday I get home from class and I tell myself I’m going to study. Then everyday, my bed calls my name and I don’t move. Oops. Sorry not sorry. This semester is much more laid back it seems, and I actually love all the content. It’s more “doctor”-like since it’s all about the hospital setting; understanding tubes and line, understanding medications, cooperating with other health care providers. It’s pretty awesome. I just have to kick my butt back in to study mode.

What’s been on your minds lately?

Do you get anxiety over anything? 

3 thoughts on “Thinking Out Loud #1

  1. I hope your shoulder is ok!! Keep us posted please 🙂 You’ll do great at the hospital!! I can’t wait to hear all about it!!

  2. That’s pretty amazing that you and Bianca have been friends for that long! Over the years, I’ve lost touch with pretty much all of my childhood friends because of moves and responsibilities getting in the way, but I wish I could have stayed n touch because I miss them! I feel like the people you grow up with are some of the ones that you form the strongest bonds with.

Leave a Reply

