Thinking Out Loud #5

Hi friends – I hope you all have had a good week. I’m back from an incredible weekend in New England celebrating the life of my grandmother with all of my family. A lot of this post will be about my long weekend. But it’s Thursday so it’s time for another Thinking Out Loud – brought to you by Amanda over at Running with Spoons! Head on over and see what other people are thinking about today.

Thinking-Out-Loud

1. Maine is a beautiful state and I wish I could have made it up there more often to visit. I’m going to make it a priority to make sure to get up there to visit my grandpa more. This was my view the first morning from my hotel room….

Displaying photo 2.JPG

2. I hadn’t seen a lot of my far away family in a really long time. I have aunts and uncles and cousins all over the place – Georgia, Colorado, Kentucky, etc. – so it was so great to see them all again. We did a lot of cousin bonding over Scattegories and Phase 10.

Displaying photo 1.JPG

This is just the grand kids that were able to make trip up. I’m closest with these cousins by far. There are 19 grand kids total. And to be honest, I haven’t met all of them. Hell, one of my mom’s brothers walked up to me and introduced himself…. even though he was at my sister’s wedding which I was at, and was her maid of honor, and I”m sure I met him. Ha, oh well I just went with it. My mom is one of seven kids, there are 19 grandchildren and 4 (and two halves) great-grandchildren. 

3. I got to meet one of my cousins’s little boy for the first time. Him and S had such a fun time hanging out and playing on their iPads together. And had fun being twins in the same jammies while jumping and dancing on the bed.

Displaying photo 5.JPG
This picture seriously cracks me up.

4. We went sledding Sunday afternoon in my grandpa’s back yard…

Displaying photo 3.JPG

Yes, that’s his backyard. And that is my uncle going down the hill. My family from Georgia had never been sledding and one had never even seen snow! There was about 12 inches on the ground I would say. 

5. I wandered down to the shore to look for sea glass – one of my favorite things to search for whenever I’m up there. Unfortunately I didn’t find any, just a lot of shells. I did manage to take this super awkward seflie that I’m going to share with you. You’re welcome.

Displaying photo 4.JPG

6. The last morning there, half my family was up and out the door by 6 am to hit the road. I was flying because I had to make a meeting that evening (which I missed anyways due to an inch of snow at home and a two hour delay..). But I was up to see the sunrise and it was amazing…

Displaying image.jpeg

7. So this was more of a recap of my weekend but that’s all I’ve been doing lately so I didn’t have much else to share. I will say that I’m probably going to be MIA again until next Tuesday. Since I missed two lectures and a lab, I have a lot to catch up on and have two exams next week. Sorry not sorry for all my complaining I’ll be doing, but I’ll be living in the library until Tuesday. 

8. Lastly, I want to take a second and say THANK YOU to all of the men and women serving our country. Thank you to the families who make sacrifices everyday so that loved ones can protect our country. My grandma was an Occupational Therapist in the service and served for many years where she met my grandfather. My grandfather served for the Marines and continues to this day to help out at the Coast Guard base near Bar Harbor, Maine. Funny story, my grandma was actually a lieutenant when she met my grandpa but she didn’t tell him that. So when she went to pick him up after her shift at Walter Reed Medical Center in DC, she drove up and rolled down the window, my grandpa looked in – eyes wide at the fact that she was a lieutenant. She immediately says “If you salute me, I swear I will drive off right now.” 

I want to share with you the most powerful portion of the funeral service: My brother, my cousins, and my uncles were carrying her out of the church, American flag draped over the casket. As family filed out, about fifteen Coast Guard men and women stood in salute as they placed her in the hearse. Safe to safe there was not a single dry eye out there. It was so incredibly powerful to me. And to see how much these men and women respect my grandfather just made my heart ache. Just them being there at the service showed how much they appreciate and respect him and I was so happy to see that. It was seriously amazing.

 

Sorry to end on a sad note, it’s been a tough weekend around here but I am so happy that I, along with my brother and sister, were able to be there for my mom and grandpa. It’s not often we all have the time to take off and go somewhere together, but some circumstances call for family time more than others. And I am so happy I could make it despite being behind in school – I know I will be fine with school and that was the last thing on my mind this weekend.

Enjoy your Thursday – and Friday, and your weekend!

One thought on “Thinking Out Loud #5

  1. It sounds like you were able to spend such an amazing time with your family. And that part about the Coast Guard salute? Yup… I’d be bawling as well.

    My parents immigrated to Canada a few years before I was born, and basically all of my family is still over in Poland. I’ve always been a little jealous of people who have their extended families close at hand because family really is one of the most beautiful things in the world.

Leave a Reply

