The Curse of Comfort Zones

As I sit in tutorial, spring break on my mind, online shopping (how awesome are those?!) and browsing Pinterest – I came across this quote.

Happiness is a reality but also a conscious choice for most adults --sometimes not an easy one--, while comfort is a combination of attitude and circumstances ... Both are good things in balance, since comfort is not necessarily superfluous things, and happiness is not necessarily lack of effort, compassion, or understanding of our own suffering as well as others'…

And it kind of struck a cord with me. With so many changes in my life recently and a refocus on how I want to be living my life, this pin got me thinking. It got me thinking about how sometimes we get too comfortable in life. About how we tell ourselves we are happy, but really we may just be comfortable.

So what’s the difference?

Happiness can mean a lot of things. It can come from within us, from our family and friends, from our work or from our success. Rarely do we consider things such as break ups, failures, pain or frustration as things that can lead to or create happiness. 

Comfort is something that we strive for in our workplace, in our relationships and in our community life. It’s a state of ease and freedom that we search for to replace anxiety or grief. 

So how are they related?

A lot of times, people mistake happiness for comfort. I’ve been there. Many times I’ve been there. In relationships, in my work and in my home. People get so comfortable in their everyday schedules that when something new comes in to play, they’re scared to move forward. They’re scared of moving to a new city, of taking advantage of a new opportunity at work, of moving on without someone, of accepting changes and seeing the positive.

Great things never came from comfort zones.

When we get comfortable in a situation, we don’t want it to change. Then when the changes come about that we aren’t prepared for, we freak out. We don’t know what to do, how to react, how to accept it.

We should never let it get to the point that you are questioning your happiness. In the past, I had found myself thinking entirely too hard about a response when people would ask how I’m doing, how’s my relationship, how’s life. It shouldn’t be a hard question. You shouldn’t have to question your happiness. I wasn’t happy. I was comfortable. I was in a place where I was comfortable. And I misinterpreted that as being happy. I was scared of what it was like outside of my comfort zone. 

Comfort zone

I feel that a part of finding your happiness is stepping out of your comfort zone. How do you know you are happy in your life if you aren’t trying new things? Sometimes you have to respect yourself enough to know that you are just comfortable – not happy.

Happiness shouldn’t be something that you search for. It should be something that comes about by respecting yourself, by doing what you love, by stepping out of your comfort zone and experiencing new things. Don’t be afraid to take on new tasks. Don’t be afraid of being without someone you thought would always be there. Don’t be afraid of jumping in to a lake of fears and taking them all head on. 

Because overcoming your fears is something that comes with life. And fear is stepping out of your comfort zone. Finding happiness and comfort are things that will come to you eventually. Because you deserve to be happy and to be comfortable. 

Comfort Zone

And I’m in that place now. What I was scared of, what I fought so hard to avoid, really isn’t that bad. I’m finding new things to take on. I’m experiencing new things. I’ve accepted that uncomfortable is okay for a short time because it will lead to happier times. 

How do you feel about stepping outside of your comfort zone?

4 thoughts on “The Curse of Comfort Zones

  1. LOVE this! amen girl. it can be so hard to take that first step into the unknown, but once I have done it it’s always been worth it. great post! 🙂

Leave a Reply

