Snow Paddy’s Day

This. Another snow day in these parts. Please, please, please let this be the last burst of winter. Spring officially starts on Thursday (Free Rita’s anyone?!) and I am hoping the temps keep rising. So my spring break is now extended by one day due to this snow, but I am spending it catching up on notes and things that I didn’t do over last week like I had planned. I truly just needed some relaxation and me-time, so that’s how I spent my week. Anywho, I am very ready to start complaining about the humidity and heat of the summer. Because let’s be honest, the humidity is always a killer in this part of the US. 

So let’s just chat about some things happening lately:

Half Marathon Training:

I didn’t keep up 100% with my training last week, truthfully. But I also am not worried about it. With coaching 3-4 hours every day last week I got plenty of exercise and moving around in that I was exhausted by the time I got home. I got 2 solid runs in during the week and successfully completed my 8 mile run on Saturday. If anything, my long runs are the runs I want to keep up with. The shorter runs during the week are important as well I know, but I’m more worried about the distance. 

I didn’t get my run in today due to 5-8 inches of snow on the ground but I did some shoveling (aka squats and deadlifts, basically), and did some planks and my shoulder exercises. But I plan on getting one in tomorrow for sure and at least 2 other days. I think I will be running my 9 miler on Friday after class due to an impromptu trip that I will talk about next week. (It’s a surprise trip and while I don’t think anyone relevant to the situation reads this, I still will hold off just in case..)

Coaching:

I know I said this before, but I really love coaching. It’s making me miss being a part of a team so much. I am jealous of how close the girls are and it makes me yearn to be a part of a team again. But I know that I have my SUWS ladies always and I am so thankful that I am still close with my college teammates. Being on the sidelines also just makes me want to be out there playing!! I haven’t played lacrosse since high school, because I played soccer in college, and I miss it. I take any opportunity to jump in there with the girls that I can when there are uneven numbers!

"HEY TERPS! Its a BEAUTIFUL day to play lax!" -my college coach would say this every day that it was disgusting outside haha

We had our first scrimmage on Friday night and did extremely well, both JV and Varsity. Fro JV, being their first time out on the field I thought they did amazing. It can only go up! For Varsity, we were without 6 starters including our goalie and we still pulled out the victory. I think I lost my voice from screaming and cheering so much. I just love it.

Happiness:

My last few posts haven’t been that happy. I’ve been struggling this week with nothing to do. I do better when I have school plus practices plus homework plus running. I like having my days full. It keeps my mind occupied and I don’t think about other things. I chatted about my journal that I wanted to start to write in every day with something that made me happy. But I haven’t been doing it. I don’t have anyone holding me accountable for it so I just don’t do it. So I’m starting this:

100 Happy Days Challenge

If you’re apart of any type of social media, I’m sure you have seen the 100 Happy Days Challenge. If you haven’t heard about it, it’s extremely simple. It’s just a challenge to find something happy for 100 days. And you post in on social media. And the website tracks it with the hashtag #100happydays. You sign up, but signing up doesn’t require much. Just an email, what social media platform you’re going to use, and when you’re starting it. I thought this would be a good way to hold myself accountable for finding something good in every day. So I started today. And for the next 100 days, I am going to find something good and happy in every day. 

Photo: Day 1: St. Paddy's Day snow day with coffee & corned beef and cabbage in the crockpot  #100happydays #dayone

Today’s Happy was this: my feet up with coffee and the Today Show while I watched the snow fall + our traditional St. Patrick’s meal of corned beef and cabbage in the crock pot!

Happy snow day to those who have one and those who don’t – keep praying for SPRING!

What makes you happy today?

Leave a Reply

