Fireworks and Spring Cleaning

Oh Monday, you decided to pop up and interrupt the weekend once again. This weekend was relaxing and I actually had a few plans – look at me! (Haha, I make my life sound so, so sad.) Anywho, let’s just jump right on in why don’t we?

Friday

Friday was a little rough, as you saw from my little post. I made a silly mistake on my practical and failed it the first time. Luckily, we get a chance to take it again and they average the two scores so I can still get a B on it. I’m just hard on myself so I was more upset with myself rather than the fact that I failed it. It’s just a little bump in the road though and I know it won’t affect my grade or career in the long run. I left school to go home and get my lax stuff then drove back to school to retake it. Yes that was about an hour and twenty minutes of driving. Gotta do what you gotta do.

So I took the retake and dominated it. Then I headed out to the high school for a game! For Varsity it didn’t go quite the way we were hoping; definitely some things we need to continue to work on. JV did awesome and even though they lost, we saw a lot of great things from them. The rest of Friday night was spent in bed because I was absolutely exhausted from the week that I had studying and failing to get 8 hours of sleep a night.

Saturday

I was debating a run on Saturday or a run on Sunday. I opted to sleep in a bit Saturday and see how I felt when I woke up. I felt okay so I just kind of took off with no set mileage in mind. I had my fuel with me that I happily ate throughout my run, but I was just not feeling it. I think I was super dehydrated because I was cramping up all over the place and my stomach just felt so off. About 6 miles in I realized I hadn’t eaten a meal since lunch Friday – not optimal for running my 11 miles that was on the calendar. So I slugged along at a slow pace and told myself to just make it to my sister’s house. My run ended there at about 8.5 miles and after getting a lot of water, my sister drove me home. Definitely not the best run ever, but I got 8.5 miles in and I was content with that considering how I was feeling. After refueling and drinking up lots of water and electrolytes, I started to feel more like myself.

Later in the evening, I had plans to head down to the Cherry Blossom Festival to watch the fireworks with some classmates. It was a bit chilly but overall was a beautiful night.

Displaying photo 2.JPG

Displaying photo 3.JPG

Displaying photo 4.JPG

Even though I have lived in the area my entire life, I can say that I’ve never actually been to the Cherry Blossom Festival. I’m not too fond of crowds or driving in the city, so this probably has something to do with it. But I will have to make it a point to get down there when they bloom. It’s almost impossible to predict when they will bloom and with the winter we had, it made it harder. So they aren’t actually bloomed fully yet. This week I believe they will be blooming so I may make a trip down to the Tidal Basin.

I didn’t get actual pictures of the fireworks, of course. We weren’t in the best spot and to be honest, they were a little weak. Not that I was expecting anything huge, but they were just lacking a bit of UMPH. Eventually we made it back to the Metro and back home where I crashed hard.

Sunday

Lazy, lazy Sunday. I slept in until 8:30 which is seriously late for me these days. I then made myself pancakes, watched Game of Thrones and didn’t move from the couch for a few hours. Eventually I got up and did laundry and cleaned the mess of my room. For whatever reason, during exam weeks my room looks like a tornado hits it. So since it was a beautiful day, I opened up all the windows and did some serious spring cleaning.

This included my bathroom which needed a major scrub down. My brother just recently moved out and I hated cleaning the bathroom all the time after him. Now it’s just me so I did a thorough bleach and scrub on the whole bathroom – walls, tub, sink, toilet, everything. Then I decided to paint! When me and my mom were looking for mess up, cheap paint at the home improvement store, I spotted a quart of a coral color for FIVE dollars! It matched my new shower curtain so I thought – Hey, why not?!

Displaying photo 1.JPG

Sorry fro the awful picture. My bathroom is tinyyyyy, so it’s hard to get a good picture. I also didn’t finish yet so I’ll get a full picture when I’m done. The rest of Sunday was just spent running errands and relaxing around the house.

The night ended, of course, with the Season 4 premiere of Game of Thrones. Heck yes, it’s back! Winter is coming,

Displaying photo 5.JPG

Spring is (hopefully) here to stay!

How was your weekend?

Leave a Reply

