MDW2014

How was everyone’s long weekend?! Mine was great so let’s just jump right on in!

Saturday

Saturday morning I woke up and got ready to head to Baltimore. I had plans to meet up with one of my best friends from college and catch up! Once I arrived at her place, we headed downtown to grab a bite to eat and just enjoy the beautiful weather we were having. Unfortunately, there was an O’s game and it was NCAA lacrosse championship weekend there so it was packed. When we finally made it down to the Inner Harbor, we went down to the cheap parking garage and walked over to the harbor. It was a perfect day out so we found a place to eat outside and enjoyed a large, strong margarita 🙂

Displaying photo 1.JPG

After eating, we did some shopping around the harbor then walked up to Federal Hill – literally the hill, not just the place.

Displaying photo 2.JPG

Unfortunately, I realized I only took snap chats of the view from the hill, not an actual picture. Epic blogger fail because the view was gorgeous. We sat up on a bench for a solid hour and just chatted and people watched. It was such a nice day to be out on the harbor with one of your best friends! The night ended in Arlington, where I just hung out with some classmates that had been sunbathing and boozing all day. I would say it was a great start to my Memorial Day weekend.

Sunday

Sunday was actually pretty low key. I did some cleaning around the house, took a long nap, read a book and drank some beers outside by myself. It was just what I needed to “detox” myself from being social. I know I’ve talked about it before, but I’m a serious introvert and can only handle so much social interaction in a short amount of time. After a week of clinic (which I have to catch you all up on, I know – coming soon!) I had had my fair share of social interaction and needed a day to myself. The night ended with a cookout at my sister’s house. We grilled some sausages with peppers and onion, had pasta salad, potato salad, veggies and all the cookout essentials. As with any cookout, it wouldn’t be complete without some beer. And man, was I happy to open the fridge and find this gem….

Displaying photo 3.JPG

Oooohhh yes. As any true Marylander – I am obsessed with Old Bay. I put it on everything. While this beer didn’t taste like Old Bay, I lined the rim with the delicious seasoning and it made it 10x better. It’s definitely a delicious summer beer. The night ended with s’mores and then I headed to bed kind of early.

Monday

I wanted to rest up on Sunday because I knew my Monday was going to be a fun filled day! I woke up early, grabbed some breakfast, then headed out to my friend Sarah’s place again, but this time to go out on her parent’s boat! It was another gorgeous day and I was so excited to spend it with great friends on the Bay.

Displaying photo 5.JPG

We headed to Annapolis, then shot over to the Eastern Shore, then went to another area down the shore, then headed back to the dock. We left around 9:30 AM and didn’t return back to the dock until around 6 PM. Our last stop was to meet up with her family friend’s boats’. Seven boats. All tied up together like a big old pontoon party. It was awesome! I wish I could have snapped a pic but booze + boat + phone = not a good idea. So my phone stayed on the boat while we explored every other boat and went out on the rafts with friends.

Displaying photo 4.JPG

It was such a perfect weekend and a great mix of friends, family and relaxation. I am thankful to those who have served and continue to serve our country today, as well as those families who sacrifice every day so that we can live the way that we do in this incredible country we call home.

How was your MDW? Do you head to the beach or avoid it like the plague – like me?

Leave a Reply

