Thinking Out Loud – Back To School

Thursday already? I guess I slacked on posting this week, but with it being the first week of classes, I am still trying to work on getting a schedule down. Thursday around here means one of my favorite link ups from Amanda over at Running with Spoons. Let’s get right in to it – and since we’re back to school, it’ll mostly be about school and plans for a routine!

Thinking-Out-Loud2

1. I got another reminder of why I love this profession this week. I might have mentioned before an older patient who I treated this summer who was always a ball of sunshine and never failed to put a smile on my face when I was treating him. He had decided to call my department and express how he felt about my PT skills – this is the email I get from my professor who returned his call…

Displaying photoGridImage.jpg

Yes, it’s quite hilarious due to the last sentence – but the fact that he took the time out of his day to say these kind words about me just made my day. Things like this remind me why I chose physical therapy as a career.

2. This semester we are in a brand-spanking-new building. It’s definitely taking some getting used to, but is it wrong that I’m bitter I’m only getting the new digs for a year?! At least my tuition money is going towards some great progression at our school. The rooms are super high-tech with tons of outlets (our old building had about 2-4 in each room), drop down screens, touch screen controls on the wall, swipe in access to our lounge and to a new parking garage we have access to. It’s pretty awesome.

3. Monday they didn’t hesitate to throw us back in to things. I was in class from 8-4 with just a 40 minute break for lunch. Luckily, this semester seems like it’s going to be fun and interesting – all neuro rehab and pediatric rehab. (Sorry, I get excited easily about nerd things)

4. Displaying photo 2.JPG

5. In Neuro lab on Tuesday we learned how to juggle and how to pop wheelies in a wheelchair. Sounds awesome right? It was so hard and so frustrating. The whole point was to discuss motor learning and how people learn new tasks, etc. But also it was functional since we may need to be able to teach patients how to get up curbs in wheelchairs – so it wasn’t total play time ;).

6. It’s fun being a third year. It’s kind of crazy. And scary. But fun at the same time. We now have two classes looking up to us and asking us questions. We have the professors full trust and they treat us more like their peers than their students. But seriously, in a year from now I’m going to be on my own treating my own patients – SCARY.

7. Wednesdays are clinic days this semester, so right now it’s just a day off. It’s like a mini weekend and I love it. Yesterday I woke up after 11 hours of sleep, made some coffee and a fantastic breakfast and watched the Today Show. It was great.

Displaying photo 1.JPG

8. With not being able to work out like I want to due to my calf still not being 100%, I am struggling with a little bit of insecurity. I just don’t feel like myself and I don’t feel comfortable. So I’m doing something about it. I’m taking out the crap from my diet and am getting focused on myself and becoming more comfortable in my body. Now that I’m back at school, I have at least 4 days during the week that I can get to the gym and work out. Since I’m not able to run yet, weights have become my best friend and I’m slowly remembering how much I loved lifting in college.

9. Displaying photo 3.JPG

10. Yesterday I spent the day writing out my calendar of exams, project due dates, deadlines, and just planned out my whole semester. It makes me feel so much better when I’m organized and have things on paper. When I know deadlines and exams, then I can easily plan for the fun activities!

That’s all I have for you guys today. I’m doing my first free intro class to Crossfit on Saturday with my brother-in-law and I’ll let you all know how it goes! I’m leaving you with this cover of my jam right now Bang, Bang. I love how these two harmonize and I think I like this version better than the original!

2 thoughts on “Thinking Out Loud – Back To School

  1. now that i’m not going back to school i’m kind of missing the preparation and the excitement of “dreading” starting class again! haha. weird but totally true!

Leave a Reply

