Favorite Things Friday

Happy Friday! I don’t know about you but I am very happy that Friday is finally here. Maybe it was because of the holiday last week, but this week just seemed to drag on. So, I welcome today and my one class and my being done by noon. šŸ™‚ Let’s jump right in to some things that I am loving this week…

Favorite Craft

I don’t know why I didn’t show you all this sooner. This summer I wanted to craft because that’s what I do when I’m bored. So I painted. And then I used my sisters fancy machine to cut out a vinyl crab, and voila!

Displaying photo 3.JPG

I am absolutely obsessed with out how it turned out! It did take forever because I hand painted the Maryland flag but I am just so happy with it.

Favorite Purchase

I went looking for a dress for a wedding at TJ Maxx the other day. Even though I didn’t want to spend money on one, I just don’t fit in my friends clothes because I’m a giant. I did find one for the wedding – it was $15 and super cute. Then I also found this one.. which was also $15 and I just couldn’t NOT get. I have a problem, it’s fine. Sorry for the blurry picture, I mean, I was in the dressing room.

dress

Favorite Workout

Now that I’m back it and working out on most days of the week, I wanted to find some different things to do to vary up my workouts. I’m still not running like I was – I want to take running easy for a bit until I know my calf is 110%; I’m focusing more on strength and functional workouts. So on to Pinterest I went, naturally. I came across one of Julie’s functional workouts and since I love her blog I thought I would give it a shot! It was a killer!!

unnamedMy legs were definitely feeling it after three rounds of this. It felt so good and even the jumping exercises felt fine on my calf – score!! When I was about half way through the first round, I thought it would be good to time myself so I could do this workout again and see how I improve. So for the last two rounds I timed myself and now I can see how I progress with it! It was definitely slow and I took a lot of breaks, but that’s what happens when you are getting back in to things after an injury break and I’m taking it one step at a time.

Favorite Meal

I’ve been doing really well with watching what I am eating and trying to get in lots of veggies. So this past weekend I whipped up a batch of my version of Cowboy Caviar. There are tons of different variations out there of this but mine I keep simple and it’sĀ so good.Ā (Doesn’t photograph the best though..)

Displaying IMG_4889.jpeg

It’s basically this: avocado, bell peppers, white corn, black beans, tomatoes, cilantro, lime juice, cumin and chili powder. Chop everything up and mix it together and there ya have it! I made it on Sunday and I had it for lunch on Monday and Tuesday; delicious.

Favorite Accessory

If you know anything about me, you know that I love America. I love American teams (USMNT, USWNT, Olympics etc.), I love American pride, I love everything about America. Given yesterday’s date, I knew I had to pull out my favorite accessory to wear…

Displaying photo.JPG

I got lots of compliments and I loved walking through Arlington, VA rocking this around my neck. The Pentagon is in Arlington. So walking around that area was awesome. There were flags everywhere and I just felt so much love for this country and how we all come together rather than fall apart when tragedy strikes.

Well, that’s all I have for y’all today! Have a great weekend!

 

2 thoughts on “Favorite Things Friday

  1. You are NOT a giant haha. So glad you found a dress! Can’t wait to stalk wedding pics šŸ˜‰ That workout looks killer!! I’ll have to remember that one. Bring on the weekendddd!!!

Leave a Reply

