Thinking Out Loud

Thinking-Out-Loud

It’s Thursday, which means it’s time for another link up with Amanda over at Running with Spoons! Head on over and check out what all the other bloggers are thinking about on this rainy Thursday. Let’s get right in to it…

My thoughts on…

Running. I’ve been pain-free and I’ve been getting my miles in and I am loving it. I have missed the days when I can just lace up and run without worrying about my calf pain creeping up 15 minutes in to my run. I’m excited for my 10K Turkey Trot on Thanksgiving that I am doing with my brother-in-law and my brother’s girlfriend!

Paper writing. I have a 10 page paper to write on the effectiveness of gaming technology (i.e. Wii Fit or Microsoft Kinect) on the balance of patients following a stroke. I’m excited to write it because it’s an awesome topic.. I just have to actually sit down and do it. Before Thanksgiving.

New computers. My computer, (which was only 3 years old, mind you..) died yesterday. It was the screen that failed me and while it is an easy fix (buy a new screen), I don’t have time to send it away to get it fixed. So. I bought a MacBook Pro. 🙂 I had a slight anxiety attack handing over my credit card, but I knew it was a purchase that needed to happen. I can’t write a 10 page paper on a computer that I can’t see the screen and/or would have to carry along a desktop screen to plug it in to (I’m not that THAT big of a nerd, guys) I think we will eventually fix my other computer and just have my parents use it for their computer use, but this Mac is awesome and no regrets on this purchase.

Future clinicals. I have an interview on Wednesday for my summer clinical which I am so excited for. If it goes well, I will have my summer clinical there. And if that goes well, maybe that will lead to a job opportunity (!!). I have my placement for this winter and I am super excited to get started there in January. I am at a hospital in DC working in the acute care setting.

Costa Rica. I know I’ve chatted about this before, but it’s finally getting real that we are going to Costa Rica for our mission trip in a few short months. We have sent in our applications, our passports are here, and our flights are planned! I was debating whether or not I would stay after our two weeks there and spend a few days enjoying the beaches of CR with classmates. I ultimately decided to stay because when else would I be in CR already and not have to pay for my flight? My mom’s answer when I asked her if I should stay: “Stay and play with monkeys and go zip lining.” Okay Mom, you got it.

Anxiety. So I had been having some pretty crazy anxiety for about 2 months. It wasn’t going away no matter how much I worked out, hydrated, etc. So I decided to cut caffeine out of my life. I haven’t had coffee in about three weeks (with one exception of one Starbucks treat), and I haven’t had anxiety since. It’s pretty crazy. I definitely miss my coffee, but going this long with coffee, I don’t feel that I need it anymore. I used to depend on it but now in the mornings, once I get up and wash my face and get moving I am good to go.

Holidays. I love that Christmas music is playing already. Let the haters hate, but we can only have Christmas music for so long and after Halloween is okay with me. I’m really looking forward to the holidays and being with friends and family. Thanksgiving will be fun, except I have two exams the Tuesday after Thanksgiving break, then final exams the week after – ugh.

And that’s all I’ve got for ya! Sorry for no pictures, I am in class right now and should be paying attention. Happy Thursday!

 

 

2 thoughts on “Thinking Out Loud

  1. That paper sounds so interesting. I never even thought of gaming systems for that use case.

    Have fun in Costa Rica, it’s seriously beautiful. Ziplining and monkeys are worth the stay.

Leave a Reply

