Bye 2014 – HELLO 2015

I can’t believe that this year is over. While 2014 brought me a lot of revelation, new experiences, and self discovery; I have a feeling that 2015 is going to be the best year yet. First, let’s review some happenings in 2014:

  1. I celebrated my 25th birthday with some classmates with some beers, then headed to another bar with Bianca, Chelsea, and her boyfriend for more celebrating.
  2. I went up to Maine in February to celebrate the life of my amazing Grandmother who passed away. I like to think that I got my inspiration to become a PT from her, as she was an OT at Walter Reed when she met my grandpa.
    1. IMG_2202
  3. I coached lacrosse at my high school which was an amazing experience and I am so happy I could be apart of it.
  4. I talked about how comfort zones are only holding you back.
  5. I PR’ed at the Ocean City Half Marathon with a time of 2:05:31. So close to my ultimate goal of under 2 hours – maybe 2015 will bring me that?!
    1. IMG_2772
  6. I had a bit of self-discovery and wrote it up in this post.
  7. I had my pinning ceremony that represented us going in to the clinical world.
  8. One of my favorite posts: when I started to truly smile again in 2014 thanks to the help of certain people (or person).
  9. I had an incredible reunion with some of my best girl friends from Salisbury. It was the perfect weekend and I can’t wait for it to happen again.
    1. IMG_3245
  10. I spent the Fourth of July in Austin, TX visiting a friend, as well as his birthday on the 5th. It consisted of lots of food and lots of drinking; the making of a great long weekend!
  11. I completed my first full time clinical, and while I realized I am in the right profession, I recognized that orthopedics may not be for me.
    1. IMG_3507
  12. I suffered my first severe running injury since college which knocked me down for the count. While I never went to the doctor (I didn’t want a boot), from my knowledge as well as my clinical instructors, it was a torn soleus (calf muscle). I was ordered to rest for over a month and it was really hard for me.
  13. I played in a beach soccer tournament in New Jersey with my best friends and we won!
  14. My third nephew was born in September 30th! B-Mack has brought so much happiness into our lives.
    1. IMG_4849
  15. I completed all of my academic course work and started to freak out about starting clinicals back up. But I fell in love with Neuro PT and found my niche.

Whew. That’s a lot of stuff that’s happened in 2014 and that’s not even all of it! I just picked out some of the highlights and some of my favorite posts. But now, let’s chat about what I’m looking forward to in 2015:

  • First and foremost, and most importantly: GRADUATING. I will complete everything this year and become a Doctor of Physical Therapy. I will take my boards in July (and pass!) and hopefully begin working by September or October.
    • I want to take a little bit of time off and travel when I complete everything. I’m thinking a Eurotrip, but we will see what’s in the budget!
  • Turning 26 in a few short weeks and celebrating with a drunk brunch with some of my closest friends
  • Being a bridesmaid in one of my best friend’s weddings!
  • My brother getting married in the Fall!
  • Costa Rica in February for a mission trip and then spending a few days extra laying on the beaches. (I just bought a new bathing suit top in preparation)
  • Everything else that comes with graduating and starting my career.

I have so much to be thankful for from 2014 and so much to look forward to in 2015. Thanks for keeping up with me and I hope you continue on reading in 2015! Happy New Years everyone!

Leave a Reply

