Hola!

Hola mis amigos, from Alajuela, Costa Rica!

IMG_5220

I hope you all have been following my class journey in this beautiful country at the blog that I am continuing to update daily.

IMG_5303
Yep, that’s an active volcano.

 

I love this country. I love that I am here with 32 of my closest friends and colleagues. I love the patients that I am seeing and the difference that I can see that I am making. I love that the patients are changing my life, more than they will every know. I’ve cried a lot, I’ve laughed a lot, I’ve experience every emotion imaginable during the first week of this trip.

IMG_5423

My life is forever changed from being here treating these patients. It’s been an exhausting, chaotic first week, but it is so worth it.

IMG_5336

I’m actually sitting outside in shorts and a tank top right now enjoying the 80 degree weather while all of my classmates are at their clinics. I have a pretty obnoxious sore throat that has been keeping me up the past few nights, and because of the vulnerability of the patients we are seeing, we are not allowed to go in to the clinics with any symptoms of an illness. As upset that I was that I had to sit back and watch my classmates leave me (at the convent with all of the Sisters who do not know English and I know very minimal Spanish, mind you), I understand that it’s important for my health that I stay back and rest so that I can be back tomorrow good to go. And it’s also vital that the patients do not get exposed to any kind of illness. So here I am, checking in with you all, soaking up lots of vitamin D, doing some administrative work for my professors, and feeling pretty doped up on some meds that they bombarded me with so kick this thing to the curb before it worsens.

IMG_5425

Continue to follow along on my class blog as we finish out this week. It’s hard to put in to words what I am experiencing here, but it’s incredible and I don’t want it to end.

Pura Vida!

IMG_5333

Leave a Reply

