Whole 30: Week 1

So, good idea or bad idea starting this reboot to my system on the same day as my final full time clinical starts? I’ll say it was in the middle. A few days I regretted it, and a few days I felt great. So let’s get in to it: (There are a very big lack of pictures… because ain’t no body got time for that when you’re working over 40 hours a week plus researching when you get home… )

ccf66d9ac4a84e5b9319f21584e5ef1a

Day 1: “I can do this”

Breakfast: Two eggs with half an avocado; 1/2 a grapefruit; handful of almond; bottle of water.

Lunch: Burger patty with grilled onions and tomato; grapes; handful of cashews.

Dinner: Spaghetti squash with chopped peppers, spinach and shrimp.

Snacks: Apple Pie Larabar on the ride home – because I thought I was going to go run and needed fuel, but then I laid in my bed and didn’t move.

H20: >48 oz

Day 2 “Okay let’s do thi….”

Let’s preface this day with this: I got up at 5:30am, hit the gym, felt great, got in my car to go home. Push my brakes and “ssccccrrrrrrrrrrrrrrreeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeee eeee eeee eeeeee”. My brakes, grinding metal on metal. I freaked out and didn’t want to drive it on the highway so called my sister (like she could help me??). Long story short, my brother in law looked at it and said its drivable but needed to be fixed soon. I reluctantly drove to work. But my morning was a hot mess and super rushed.

Breakfast: Two hard boiled eggs and a banana

Lunch: Leftovers from Day 1 dinner with a burger on top instead of shrimp; 3 mini bell peppers

Dinner: On the ride home: 2 hardboiled eggs and a banana. Then I got to sit through my lacrosse banquet and watch everyone eat pasta and garlic bread while I ate my Larabar and chugged my water. Finished up the spaghetti squash when I got home.

Snacks: Cashews and almonds.

Day 3: “I’m tired.”

B: 1 egg (all we had left 😦 ) with proscuitto; 1/2 grapefruit; 1 cup black coffee

Snack: Cashews

L: Burger patty with sweet potatoes

D: Turkey, kale, sweet potato patty with prosciutto wrapped asparagus

IMG_6613

Late night snack: 1/2 grapefruit

Day 4 aka Death: “What is happening to me.”

(I woke up feeling like a truck hit me. I was nauseous thinking about all foods, I wanted nothing. My head hurt. My throat hurt. My back hurt. My body ached.)

B: 1 grapefruit; banana with scoop of almond butter (TJs); 1/2 cup black coffee.

L: 1 yellow pepper and an apple.

Snack: I was hungry but also nauseous, I heated up my real lunch and almost vomited at the smell. So I continued working and stepped away from the food. Ate a LaraBar to get something in me because it’s all I had.

D: Knew I needed something: Cilantro Lime Chicken turned in to chicken salad with avocado and lime; hard boiled egg; Yogi brand Cold Season tea for my throat.

Asleep by 8:45.

Day 5: “So, is the worst over?”

Whoa, it’s like I’m a new woman compared to the previous day.

B: 2 eggs and 1 egg white scrambled; blueberries; applesauce. 1 cup black coffee

L: Leftover chicken salad with avocado on bell peppers

D: Lots of shrimp covered in Old Bay with squash and zucchini, and the last of my prepped sweet potatoes.

S: Cashews

Day 6

B: Nature’s Promise Sweet Italian Chicken Sausage, 2 eggs and grapes.

L: Leftover Chicken, Wholly Guacamole 100 Calorie packet x2 with carrots and peppers.

D: Sat and watched Pitch Perfect 2 at a theater that has waiter service while my sister and mother ordered delicious food and I didn’t want to be nit-picky so I ate grapes and cashews/almonds. After the movie I ate the last of the shrimp and zucchini.

Day 7

IMG_6621

B: 2 eggs, one egg white with chopped bell pepper and zucchini; grapes and strawberries; handful of cashews.

L: Chicken, yellow bell pepper, carrots and a Wholly Guacamole 100 Cal packet.

D: The best meal in a week: London Broil with roasted red potatoes and green beans. Picture taken after I had already eaten half of my meal. I also tried out Tessemae’s Balsalmic to dip the potatoes in and it was pretty good! Can’t wait to use this stuff on more foods.

IMG_6627

So, thoughts on week one? I think I did okay. I didn’t do great, the lack of meal planning and crazy schedules some days didn’t help and left me to eat whatever I had that I could grab and go. But I stuck to it. I didn’t cheat. Despite the donuts in the break room 3/5 work days, the truffle french fries next to me during the movie, the endless free popcorn at the movie, and the multiple mornings I woke up craving a bagel.

Now what do I need to better? Meal prep! It’s no joke, you need to have so many things readily available to you incase certain crazy days do spring up. (Luckily I did have hard-boiled eggs on hand all week for emergencies) I read this before starting and thought I did okay, but I don’t think I did good enough. So this weekend I hit the grocery store and I’m ready to prep some more snacks and meals.

I’m honestly sort of getting bored of it already, mostly because I hate seeing other people eating foods I want to eat. But I’m just reminding myself of why I want to do this and I can seriously already feel a difference. Week one down, 3 more to go.

Leave a Reply

