Where Were You When The World Stopped Turning…

I can never post on this day about anything other than what deserves to be written. A small remembrance in my little corner of the Internet. 

I was in 7th grade. Mr. Hubble’s English class. My class cheered when they announced that we would be dismissed early. We didn’t know. We were naive. They didn’t allow us to turn on the TVs. I live in a suburb of DC; many classmates had parents/aunts/uncles who worked in DC, some at the Pentagon. 

I didn’t understand what was happening until I got home and my brother was glued to the TV. I remember seeing the buildings on fire, still not fully comprehending what was happening. Not understanding the significance of that event. I was, what, 12? I didnt understand. 

Today, I look back on that days horrific events… I thank God for all the men and women who ran towards the buildings when so many others were running away. I thank God that I live in a country where such a tragic event only brings us together as a country, it doesn’t tear us apart. I thank God for those men and women who serve for this amazing country, each and every day, allowing me to live the life that I was meant to lead while they protect us from near and far. 

Today I had the worst training run of my short running career. It was terrible. I walked a lot. I wanted to call my mom and tell her to pick me up. Then I remembered what day it was. And I kept going. For those 3,000 lives lost. For those who can’t run. For those who fight for our freedom everyday. I completed 9.11 miles. 

 
It was hard. There were a lot of hills. There was a lot of “Why the hell am I doing this”. But I did it. 9.11 miles, in remembrance. 

We shall never forget, we shall keep this day, we shall keep the events and the tears in our minds, our memory and our hearts and take them with us as we carry on.” – Unknown. 

Leave a Reply

