It’s Time

So a few days ago we chatted about how I anxious and nervous I am about this big change in my life happening. In less than two weeks I will be moving to a new city, in a new state, to live with one of my best friends…

IMG_4257

Well I have some great news:

I got a job!

Last week, I was offered the position that I really wanted and I could not be more excited. I think that this definitely helped ease some of the stress that I was having and made me more excited about taking this big step. The more that I talk to others about it, the more anxious I get to actually move up there and begin this new stage in my life! I know it’s going to be so good for me and I know it’s something that I needed to do.

With that said… I have a little less than 2 weeks left in the DMV – the place I’ve called home for 26.5 years (and will always call home). I have literally nothing to do the next 2 weeks. All my friends are working, I have no one to hang out with, but I want to do things! So I’ve begun to look up some things that I can do in the DC area for free and/or cheap. Here are some things I’ve been looking at:

  • Checking out Gravelly Point Park – Because who doesn’t want to lay in a field and watch airplanes take off and land directly above you.
  • Smithsonian Museums – One of my favorite things about DC is that all of the incredible museums are free. I’ve been to all of them a few times each, probably. But it doesn’t hurt to check out history again.
  • Hiking! – There are SO many areas to hike in the area: Billy Goat Trail, Rock Creek Park, Sugarloaf Mountain, Mt. Vernon Trail, etc. Unfortunately, hiking is not the safest activity to do solo.
  • SUP or Kayaking under the Key Bridge – This has been on my bucket list for awhile now; but again, like the hiking, this one would be pretty boring to do alone. (And possibly dangerous?!)
  • Exploring Georgetown – Sure, I’ve been to Georgetown a few times, but mainly I had a purpose of going and I did what I needed to do then left. Plus, I could go to Georgetown Cupcake and Sprinkles. 🙂
  • National Harbor Ferris Wheel – I think the actual Ferris Wheel ride is pretty pricey, but it’s so pretty down on the Harbor. There is also kayaking and SUP down here too! Also, they have outlet shopping.
  • A “new-to-me” attraction that I honestly didn’t know existed: The National Arboretum – This is pretty much a huge garden/forest/nature walk in the middle of DC. It is 446 acres and has 9 miles of roadways that connect all of the gardens… I feel like a run through this may have to happen.
  • Being a tourist – It honestly never gets old to me to just walk around the monuments in DC. One thing on my bucket list that I do want to do is seeing the sunrise from the Lincoln Memorial.

So, who in the DC area wants to come with me to do all of these things?! I’m 100% serious here, people. Help me make the most out of my last few weeks here!

3 thoughts on “It’s Time

  1. I will do as many of these as I can with you! As for the sunrise at the Lincoln Memorial, we should do November Project!!! They are at the memorial on Wednesdays I believe. Want to do next week?

  2. DC sounds so great! i’ve never actually been there so i’m literally of no help at all. Sarah from Picky Runner worked in DC for a semester so she’s pretty familiar!

Leave a Reply

