A Fall Wedding

This past weekend, I had the pleasure of joining some of my closest and and best friends from college in celebrating my college roommate getting married!

188412_1004518237152_8742_n
Freshman Year Roomies
222930_2042341742091_4267387_n
We take really good pictures….

I would not have missed this day for the world and I am so happy that I was able to celebrate with Whitney and a few of our closest friends. I arrived in Maryland (just outside of where we went to college) about an hour before the ceremony, so I walked in and found my seat and just took in all of the decorations.

IMG_7691

IMG_7724
Whitney’s Dad built this – Incredible.
IMG_7727
The sign in table
IMG_7728
Cake and cupcakes!
IMG_7741
Grooms Cake

Before long it was time for the ceremony to start! Whitney’s bulldog. Trudy, made it in to the wedding and was the cutest…

IMG_7692

IMG_7701

Kathleen and Annemarie are two of my good friends from college and stood up with her as bridesmaids. And here comes the bride…

IMG_7708

IMG_7710

Whitney looked absolutely stunning. Her dress, her hair piece, everything was just gorgeous and I was tearing up before the ceremony even started.

IMG_7719 IMG_7722

The newlyweds walked back down the aisle to Beyonce’s “Love On Top” and it was perfection. Whitney has not changed a bit and I freaking love it. Her dad actually sat next to me during the ceremony and we were sitting there giggling at Whit’s facial expressions throughout the ceremony.

There was an area for corn hole and s’mores…

IMG_7752

And of course a Photo Booth…

IMG_7753

And soon it was time for the dances…

IMG_7731

Whitney and Jake danced to John Legend’s “You and I” and it was beautiful. Then came all of my waterworks… The father-daughter dance.

IMG_7737

Whitney’s parents took me in as their own pretty much throughout my college years. They are the most caring and wonderful people and I just lost it during this dance. At one point, Whitney’s dad looked at me, whispered “Sam’s crying.” And Whitney whipped her head around to look at me. I of course then started laughing, but it was seriously beautiful. I am so thankful for not only her friendship over the years, but for her parents always welcoming me into their home/beach house/arms whenever I needed. And that moment just reminded me of all of that. End mushy things. 

Jake and his Mom danced to “Like Jesus Does” by Eric Church, which was another perfect song selection.

IMG_7738

After getting some food and drinks it was time for the speeches by the best man and maid of honor.

IMG_7745 IMG_7750

Both were a mix of funny and emotional – they each had me laughing and tearing up at different parts. Chelsea, Whit’s sister, ended her speech with possibly the greatest ending I’ve ever heard. She wanted to end with a quote, from “one of the most inspirational” women of our time… the one and only, Beyonce. “Got me looking so crazy, right now. Your love’s got me looking so crazy right now…” And so she ended with the entire chorus of Crazy In Love. And it was perfection.

The rest of the night was spent right where it was supposed to: the dance floor.

IMG_7765

IMG_7763 IMG_7761

It was such a beautiful wedding and I had an amazing time seeing some of the people that I love the most and celebrating such an amazing person finding her happiness.

Congratulations Whitney and Jake! Wishing you both nothing but all of the happiness in the world. I am so thankful that I got to spend the day with you two celebrating your happy ever after!

 

Leave a Reply

