Friday Favorite

I’ve been a bit MIA this week – things have been a little hectic, as I’ve just completed my first week as a DPT! I’ve had a lot of meetings, a lot of paperwork, a lot of training and a lot of generalized stress this week, but I’m happy to say that my first week went great!

IMG_7845
Commute πŸ™‚

Needless to say, that’s my favorite thing to share with you this Friday, so let’s chat about it!

For my job, I am what they call a “traveler”. Meaning that (once I am 100% trained and competent) I travel between their four main hospitals, outpatient facilities, and do home health visits. Until I am considered competent with everything, I am spending my time mentoring with a PT at one facility. Then eventually I will start going to other facilities to train and get to know the in’s and out’s. They do this so that they aren’t throwing us in blind – I’ll have a better idea of where to get supplies/where to go/how things work at every facility through this training process.

The fact that I have such a supportive mentor program is one thing that I love about this position so far. On Monday, it was obviously just an orientation type day. I observed a lot, got to play around with the computer systems, and just got a feel for how things are done at this facility. By Wednesday I was given my own patients to treat and document – with my mentor either in the room or close by if needed. I sort of feel like an advanced student, if that makes sense. I still have someone over my shoulder if I need, but overall, I’m on my own, which is comforting and nerve racking at the same time.

IMG_7840
Sorry, took out last name and work place.

The people that I’m currently working with are great. They’ve been welcoming, helpful, and have pretty hilarious lunch time conversations. One issue that I have: I need to learn how to use a pager. Haha.

So far I’ve gotten up to treating about 5-6 patients of my own. My mentor is typically still right there with the more complicated patients, because again, I still don’t know all of the protocols and I’m still learning my way around the hospital. I also still have a lot of nerves built up! I haven’t touched a patient since August 7th – and that was in outpatient. I haven’t been in a hospital setting since before Costa Rica!

Overall though, I really think I’m going to like this job and I am so happy to working again. I am no doubt exhausted and stressed and so ready for the weekend, but I can’t wait to see where this new position takes me!

3 thoughts on “Friday Favorite

Leave a Reply

