2015 Hallo-Weekend

How was everyone’s Halloween weekend?! Mine was pretty fabulous so let’s jump right in to it!

Thursday

My creepy weekend festivities started Thursday night with a trip to the Eastern State Penitentiary. Unfamiliar? Check this out. According to Wikipedia, the jail was open from 1829-1971. It’s also known for holding Al Capone at one point in time.

IMG_7899

It’s a pretty ridiculously awesome place architecturally. The haunted house was set up so that there were about 5 different rooms, or areas of the penitentiary, with different themes. My favorite was definitely the 3D area, where we were given 3D glasses and walked through a neon-covered, clown filled, Medusa haunting area. By far the best part of the night was how petrified my roommate was the entire time. I almost peed my pants laughing at how scared she was getting on multiple occasions. Below is an actual picture of the cell blocks that we walked through where actors were scaring us all night..

BT05

It was a great way to kick off the Halloween weekend!

Friday

Friday was a work day, obviously, but that didn’t mean we couldn’t have a little fun! My mentor brought in a good amount of Halloween gear for the PT crew to wear. She got a few of us shirts that were battery powered and lit up to the beat of music/noise whenever it was turned on. We couldn’t turn those on in the patient’s rooms – I’d rather not give anyone a seizure from my flashing t-shirt, thanks. Here is some of the rehab group that I’ve been with the past few weeks.

IMG_7902

Friday evening was relaxed and consisted of a little pasta party at my roommate’s cousin’s place, as a few friends prepared for the Philly Rock’n’Roll Half on Saturday.

Saturday

Halloween morning was going to start with a run, but my neck has been bothering me and I don’t want to flare it up like it’s been in the past so I skipped the run and walked about 3 miles with Corrin. College GameDay was happening in Independence Mall because of the Temple/ND game so we figured we would go check that out.

IMG_7908 IMG_7905

It was about 8am when we got down there and it was already pretty crowded with people continuing to pour in as we were leaving. We were in need of coffee so we didn’t stay long but it was cool to be able to check it out. T

The rest of the day was actually incredibly productive. We ran errands all morning which included a trip to Home Depot for more house things for Corrin. I painted and cleaned one of my closets (all my clothes are still in the guest room because my closets/the wall my closets are on aren’t finished yet.) The plan is to rip out and replace the door frame of one closet and put up sheet rock over the entire wall – we think there is a fireplace behind the wall and it was really poorly covered up, so it just needs some fixing up.

Eventually it was time to get ready to head to the party! Corrin’s friend had a big Halloween bash and it was so much fun. We spent the evening chatting and drinking and eventually ended up at the bar to dance the rest of the night away.

IMG_7912

I ended up throwing together an outfit as a jazzercizer. I think it came together really well and loved the outcome! Corrin was Rudolph the red-nosed reindeer, and a few friends were Santa and a Christmas tree to match, ha!

Sunday

I was happy to wake up Sunday morning not hungover, but through the day, the headache slowly started to come on. I was still pretty productive – I got some grocery shopping done, some food prepping and as I type this up on Sunday afternoon I am catching up on some TV. The rest of the night will consist of football watching and more food prepping.

I hope everyone had a fun-filled Halloween weekend! Happy Monday… I shall leave you with a a baby tiger in a swing… because, cuteness overload.

IMG_7903

Leave a Reply

