Winter is Here…

Not sure where you all are, but I’m huddled on my couch with my coffee and a view of Jonas, the blizzard, out my front window. They’ve been talking up this storm for about a week now and I guess it’s no joke! I don’t plan on leaving my couch all day today and I figured now was as good a time as any to chat. It’s been weeks since I’ve stopped in, but sometimes you just need a little break.

Here’s what I woke up to today…

IMG_8286

That’s my back yard. And my front yard has snow drifts close to the window (which is about 5 steps up from ground level). The wind is picking up and the snow isn’t supposed to stop for another 10-12 hours; right now I would say we have about a foot. My roommate is in Singapore and can’t get home… I guess there are worse places she could be stuck, but it sure is boring being snowed in by yourself!

IMG_8292

I’ve actually attempted to write up a few posts the past few weeks, but never got around to posting them. I couldn’t finish them or I would write them up and then would think “This is a pointless post about nothing.” So I left it in my drafts. Here’s a few highlights of what I’ve been up to:

Sarah visited! We always like to plan a few weekends where we can get together and catch up and after the holidays seemed like the perfect time. She came up Saturday afternoon and we explored the city, went out to a popular pub for dinner and drinks, and had time to catch up on each others lives. We even went for a 3-mile run in the rain Sunday morning – I love that my friends have as much of a passion for exercising as I do. 🙂

IMG_8245

I’m a few weeks in to my time at my second hospital orientation. I say orientation even though I’ve been on my own since day 2 because of the need for coverage. There’s no better way to learn than being thrown in there, right?! I have been learning the other floors and spending more time in the intensive care unit which has been great to get more experience in.

I turned a year older! Last weekend was my birthday and while I didn’t do any crazy celebrating like I did last year, it was still a great birthday. Being in a new city with not a lot of friends yet it hard in itself, but then add in your roommate leaving the country on your birthday and the few friends you have made being away that weekend made for some depression about my birthday weekend. I’m not one that needs to go out and celebrate hard core for my birthday, but I also didn’t like the idea of being alone. So I ended up going home, surprising my mom and dad, and just being with family. Any birthday that I get to spend with these three and cupcakes is a great one in my book…

IMG_8274

I walked around the city on my first day off since starting my job. I’ve been pretty stressed and my anxiety has been terrible the past few weeks, so I decided to take the Friday before my birthday off. I used that time to book a few important doctors appointments and then walked around the city. I ended up covering about 7-8 miles of steps on my FitBit throughout the day!

IMG_8264

My anxiety has been the worst it’s been in years. Mentioned briefly above, my mental game has not been 100% the past few weeks. If you’ve been around here for awhile, you know that I’ve struggled with issues with anxiety for awhile now. I have my own ways that I cope with it and typically I can keep it under control – running and solo time usually do it for me. Not this time around. Over the past 2 weeks I’ve been constantly dizzy, lightheaded, nauseous, and feeling “out of my body”. It would worsen in crowds/restaurants, and even worse, it would happen in spells while at work, in patient’s rooms, when I need to be 100% mentally there. I turned to my last resort self- cures: increase salt intake, increase electrolyte intake, increase use of my sister’s “liquid xanax” oils, and meditate nightly. My cures aren’t normal, and actually are quite contradictory. But they work for me. My blood pressure runs pretty low, but with my anxiety I feel that it dips lower than normal. I rock compression socks daily and make sure I drink about a gallon of fluids a day to help. After about a week and a half, I’m finally feeling about 95% back to normal.

I’ve been Netflix binging. Since my roommate has been away for work the past 2.5 weeks straight, I’ve had a lot of time to catch up on some Netflix shows. I finished Orange is the New Black season 3. I’m halfway through Making A Murderer. I’ve watched a few documentaries and movies. And next up on my list to binge is: Narcos. I’m open to more suggestions!

Another thing that has helped dramatically with my mental health lately? Coloring books. No joke, I am obsessed with these things…

IMG_8284 IMG_8168

It totally makes you focus on the tiny details of the picture and I just get lost in my work. I love it.

And with that, you’re pretty much caught up on the last few weeks of life. The snow is continuing to fall and I’m sitting here debating a trek down the street to Dunkin Donuts because a donut just sounds delicious right now, does it not? Stay safe and stay warm, people. Happy Snow Day! 🙂

Leave a Reply

