Fitness Lately

I’m not sure if I told you all, but I’m signed up for my next race! I had been debating between a few – and still am thinking about one more – and finally bit the bullet and applied for the lottery for the Cherry Blossom Ten Miler. In December,  I found out that I got in! One of my best friends, Chelsea, told me that this was one of her favorite races that she’s ever run, so I had to check to out for myself, of course. 🙂

cucblogo

I’ve never run this distance before but the idea of running a little more than a 10K and a little less than a half sounds just about perfect! The other race that I have been debating is a half marathon that is one week after the Cherry Blossom. I figure I will already be trained, so why not?! I have to decide quick because prices go up and it sells out quick, I’m told.

newlogo

So let’s chat about workouts lately!

I finally have joined a gym which is making workouts much more fun again. I forgot how much I missed lifting heavy weights! I’m hoping to sit down this week and write out actual workouts – because sometimes when I hit the gym without a plan, I end up wandering around to whatever is open and do a few sets. Going in prepared is key to having a successful workout!

It doesn’t help that I go at primetime gym hour and it is packed. I think I may need to start sucking it up and hitting the gym at 5:30am to avoid the crowds!

My running is probably the best that it has been in a very long time. For example, yesterday I headed out on a run thinking I would just be gone for about 3 miles… 7.6 miles later, I still felt like I could keep going.

IMG_8346

I don’t think there has ever been a time in my life when I could just up and run over 5 miles without preparing beforehand. Also, after a rough day last week, I hit the treadmill for some speed training and ended up doing a little over five miles in 45 minutes! Also, I set a new PR on the mill for a 5K: 26:26! I honestly think I can contribute this to being at a healthier weight than I was at a few months ago. Remember that October Half that went terribly wrong? Yep, I blame the extra 15 pounds I was carrying. Now it’s like my body is moving at the weight I’m supposed to be and it’s amazing.

My goal for this round of training: stay healthy. I’m looking at getting a new pair of shoes soon, I’m going to make sure I have a few dates a week with my foam roller, and stretching is going to become my new best friend. Another way I want to make my running better? Stick with lifting! I have a few weddings creeping up and I really want to make sure I’m looking my best – and I always seem to feel and look the best when I’m doing a variety of exercise, not just running.

This week starts my official “training” for the ten miler/potential half and I’ll be sure to keep ya up to date on the workout front! The weather is going to be abnormally spring-like this week – get out there and enjoy it 🙂

Leave a Reply

