Marching Back To Feeling Good

Here.. We.. Go..

One month until I need to be in a bathing suit. Less than two months from a special visitor to Philly. Two months until my brothers wedding. A few months from being a bridesmaid in my best friend’s wedding. And beach season is just creeping up, y’all. What’s all that mean? It’s time to get serious about my health!

I’ve mentioned before the success that I had with “21 Day Fix” (see below) back in November. When I started it in November, I had a good bit of weight that needed to come off. Now as I restart it for the month of March, I’m more so doing it to feel as good as I did. Weight-wise and what I like to go by: clothes-fit-wise, I am actually feeling pretty good. But I miss that energy and self-control I felt before.. I was so in touch with my body and could really feel the effects of what I was putting in to it. And believe it or not, that was without working out 5-6 days a week. I used the 21 Day Fix diet guidelines to help get me back on track, and I’m ready to kick start this month doing the same!

Disclaimer: I did not follow the Fix to a tee. I was rough around the edges, I used it strictly as a guideline to make me more aware of how much I should be eating. It was eye opening, and I felt great afterwards. Which is why I’m choosing again, to use the guidelines as just that, a guide to get back to feeling like a better version of me. Criticize if you will, if I’m not following everything 100%… I do what works for me, so you do what works for you.

So what’s in it for you? You get to hear me complain about how I want more than 2 teaspoons of peanut butter (after lent ends, of course, still going strong sans PB), you get to see what I’m meal prepping every week, you get to hear how much better I feel (or if I’m not feeling better), you get to see what workouts I’m getting in weekly, and you get to be my accountability for the month of March. My roommate is a beach body coach, and as she is on the mend from a back injury, we are both excited to get serious and set forth some changes in our diet habits.

Every Monday, you’ll be hit with my weekly meal prep and a rough guideline of my meal plan.

  • Ever since I did Whole 30 last summer, meal prepping is something that just works for me. It makes my weekday mornings so much easier to just grab a container, toss it in my lunch box and go.
  • Something that works for me and not others (aka my roommate), is that I can easily eat the same thing for lunch every single day for a week and not get bored of it.

Every Sunday, you’ll be hit with the previous week’s worth of exercise!

  • I’m currently training for a 10-miler. So I won’t always be doing the actual 21-Day workouts.
  • I also have a gym membership and I love lifting heavy weights – therefore again, I may not always do the 21-Day workouts.
  • Mostly, I’ll be using those workouts as “fillers” for days when I can’t get to the gym, when I need an active rest day from running, or if I’m feeling like I want a double work out.
  • Again, this is what works for me right now in my life, and the diet plan is the main thing I am focused on. To each their own.

And along the way, you’ll hear about my struggles, my accomplishments, my cheats, my good days and my bad days.

April is an insanely busy month for me – I have a 10 mile race, a bachelorette party in Florida, an out of town visitor :-), and my brother’s wedding. All of these things are motivation to get back on track to a healthier feeling version of myself!

How do you prepare for special events?

Leave a Reply

