Meal Prep: Week of 2/29

While I actually did most of my grocery shopping Saturday morning to adapt for my run planned yesterday, Sunday afternoon was filled with meal prep! First thing’s first, raid the fridge and freezer, see what I’ve got, and make some plans. Here’s what I’ve got planned:

Breakfasts:

This, I like to keep simple. 3 out of 5 days, I will typically make a shake. My shakes look like this:

IMG_8450

Ice. Kale/spinach. Half of a banana. One scoop of Vega. Tablespoon of chia seeds. Pinch of oats (for filling power). Almond milk. Water. 

If we’re talking 21 Day containers, I typically count this as: one purple (half banana = 1 fruit), one red (protein powder 1 scoop), and sometimes 1/2 green (kale/spinach) depending on how much I put in. I don’t include the oats, because I put in less than half of a serving.

One to two days a week I will make eggs for breakfast, pack it in a container and eat it on the road (totally safe, I know). It will look a little like this: One cup of zoodles. Two eggs. Old bay seasoning.

Lunch:

On the menu for this week’s meal plan for lunches:

The main course: Shredded chicken with chick peas and spices.

IMG_8460

I tossed a few chicken breasts and can of chick peas in to the crock pot. Sprinkled on some EVOO, a little black pepper, paprika, garlic powder, onion powder and some sea salt. I put it on high for a few hours and before you know it, I could shred it up with 2 forks:

IMG_8470

I wish this had smell-o-vision because it smells delicious in my house as I type this up.

Sweet potato medallions. (My new favorite way to prepare them!) Cut in to rounds, sprinkle with EVOO, old bay seasoning and a little garlic powder. 400 degrees in the oven for 35-45 minutes, depending on how crispy you like them.

IMG_8462 IMG_8463

Sautéed kale with garlic and onions: Start off with a hot pan and toss in EVOO, minced garlic and chopped up onion.

IMG_8464

Next, toss in the kale, cover, and let all the yumminess sauté down until the kale is a darker green and not so crispy.

IMG_8465

My other veggie prep included chopping up some peppers and having some zucchini ready to go in my produce drawer to be zoodle’d. (My favorite way to eat zucchini, by far, and the quickest/easiest way to add some veggies into almost any meal!)

IMG_8467

The carrots and hummus were bought on a whim, because one of my best friends visited last night and I figured it would be a great snack to have to enjoy while watching the Oscars and catching up  was supposed to visit last night, but had some car trouble… soooooo more hummus and carrots for me?

Other snacks that I have on hand: Wholly Guacamole single serve packs, turkey breast, and unpictured: Oikos yogurt, whole unsalted raw almonds, and rice cakes.

Dinner:

I don’t typically meal prep my dinners, because I enjoy coming home from the gym and being able to cook something up for myself. Here’s what I have to work with:

IMG_8471

From the freezer:

  • Turkey burgers – A staple in my freezer; they’re delicious and easy to just cook up on a weeknight
  • Frozen veggies! Again, a major staple you’ll always find. A few favorites: Italian blend, stir-fry blend, edamame, and the broccoli, cauliflower, carrot blend.
  • Black bean burgers – This was a splurge buy last week and man, are they delicious! Add a little guac and sweet potato and it makes for the perfect, filling meal.
  • Unpictured: frozen chili from a few weeks ago (that should be eaten, or tossed at this point), a few chicken breasts, some frozen meatballs from last weeks batch, and I think I have one piece of tilapia.

My typical week night dinner will generally be one of these staples from the freezer with whatever I have on hand in the fridge. I like to keep my dinners balanced with a protein and lots of veggies. If I haven’t used up all of my carbs for the day with lunch and snacks, then I’ll toss in a sweet potato or brown rice.

I haven’t quite gotten to the point of planning out my dinners specifically, because what if I get home and don’t want what I have planned? Because a lot of times, eggs and zoodles make me the happiest after a rough day at work. But hey, whatever works, right?!

So here we have it! Lunches planned out and divided up in to containers for the week – yogurts ready to go – 12 almonds portioned out for a snack – and now my mornings this week will be that much easier!

IMG_8472

Do you food prep?

Leave a Reply

