Day Off – Treatyoself

Yesterday I enjoyed my first flex day as a working woman. (We work one weekend shift about every 5 weeks and my first shift is this coming Saturday. So that we don’t get paid overtime, or have to work 6 days in a row, they schedule us a flex day somewhere in the same pay period as the weekend shift.) The weather was going to be beautiful and i had some big plans for the day, so let’s recap!

I woke up around 7:30 – which is sleeping in, in my opinion, how sad. And I casually allowed myself to wake up. No rush to get to work? Awesome! Step one of my #treatyoself day was a run!

I still wanted to break in my shoes a bit so I headed out on a very slow, easy shake out run. My legs were feeling very sore and I knew they would be worked later in the day so I took it easy to the bridge.

IMG_8558

On my way back, I didn’t head straight back to home. I had other plans in mind, since it was #treatyoself day after all…

IMG_8559

Step two: I made a pitstop at South Street Philly Bagels for a whole wheat everything bagel with veggie cream cheese – my favorite. These rainbow bagels were so cool – so I snapped a snapchat of them, obvs.

Once I had my breakfast in hand, I walked back home to enjoy it with some fresh coffee and the last 2 episodes of Love on Netflix. If you haven’t checked it out, it’s pretty good – the main character Gus I feel like portrays the awkwardness that lies inside all of us, he just puts it all out there all the time.

After a shower, I headed out for step number three of my #treatyoself day: a massage!

IMG_8560

It was about a 2 mile walk to Rittenhouse to get to Phila Massage. Don’t laugh guys, but this was my first ever massage. Ever.

IMG_8566

But with my training going so well, I thought that maybe a sports massage would be nice for my legs to loosen up a bit more. I had Amanda and she did a great job. I was relaxed, but also grimacing in pain at some points, which I know is what I needed! Whew, those adductors and medial hamstrings were painful.

IMG_8565

I left feeling like I was walking on clouds. Everything felt so relaxed and loose – success!

Step four of my day was to head a few blocks north to Carlo’s Bakery to pick up a cupcake for our friend! Her birthday was last week, but Corrin and a few others weren’t around, so we planned to get together on her rooftop for takeout sushi and a belated birthday celebration – see below.

IMG_8569

I picked her up an Oreo cupcake… And you didn’t really think I was going to leave without something for myself, did you? I mean, it’s #treatyoself day! I left with an unpictured oatmeal raisin cookie the size of my face that made it about 5 blocks before it was gone. It was worth every bite.

IMG_8563

Once back home, I made myself a more substantial meal of broccoli and eggs. That should hold me over until dinner! (Edit: Or until I go to Target and get a bag of trail mix and eat half of it) I then headed to Target to grab a few things we need for tacos on Friday when Noel comes in to town!

To get the most out of the weather, I then headed down towards Penn’s Landing in search of a grassy area where I could sit/lay and read while soaking up some good ol’ vitamin D!

IMG_8574
Check out my new tank from my best friend Chelsea! 🙂

I lasted a little over an hour before the sun started to dip a little lower and it got a bit breezy for my shorts and tank top. Back home I went to start typing this up and Netflix.

Once Corrin got home from work, we headed over to Kim’s for sushi on her rooftop!

IMG_8575
This looks way better in person, by the way.

The sushi took forever to get there and we were insanely hangry by the time it arrived. I ate it so quickly but did have time to snap a quick pic.

IMG_8577

I was not impressed, at all. The rolls were very small, usually 2 will make me a happy full and I was still starving after 2 rolls. Oh well, not ordering from there again! But it was a great end to the day.

How do you spend your days off during the week? 

 

Leave a Reply

